Breaking Emotions: Hate and Love

Here is the final part of the Breaking Emotions blogathon that Mettel Ray has put together. I had a lot of fun with this project, and I think it was an absolutely stunning idea, and I jumped on board late maybe, but fervently. This was something I wanted to be a part of, and sadly it has now drawn to a close. The final two emotions to tackle were love and hate. One half of me was really on board with this, then the other half was hate, and there are a lot of things that I can get up in arms about, but not precisely sure which ones I would put in this post, so I have chosen three at random.

breakinghate

Django Unchained (2012)
As much as I loved this film and as much as I could laugh in it, there was a massive array of scenes that plain and simple just highlighted the injustices and inequalities of the past, the cruelty that human beings were made to suffer at one another’s hands. And this is a great film, do not misunderstand me. I watched it again just recently and had a ball for the most part. But there were some scenes, and I think the two most memorable ones were the Mandingo fights and the scene with the dogs. I am going to concentrate on the scene with the slave, the despicable Calvin Candie and the vicious dogs and rednecks waiting. A Mandingo fighter/slave ran away – the slave just couldn’t do it anymore, he didn’t have it in him anymore to fight and win or die at the hands of another man. Calvin Candie pretends to be having a normal conversation with the man, but is in actual fact mocking him and getting to his point. Dr King Schultz attempts to even out the situation by buying the slave, and Django has to put his foot down, and progresses to tell Calvin Candie he can do with his slave whatever he pleases. This entails Candie setting some incredibly violent dogs on the slave, who is then torn limb from limb while Django looks on, and Dr King Schultz cannot bear witness to the brutality. The scene is sick and twisted and pretty rough seeing as one human being decided to teach another one a lesson so harshly for something as small as running away, of wanting to be free. It just highlighted the slaveholder’s attitude towards a life he had no value for. I think it really gets to me because I love history a lot, and I have never understood how someone could take control of another person like that, as though they have no say and no feelings. This scene just captured the inequalities and the cruelty.

American Mary (2012)
This was one of those films that was just a true work of art, in my honest opinion. I enjoyed so much about it, and thought it was simply amazing to watch. But then there was that thing that just made me boil over with anger, seething. When Mary goes to the party of her one teachers, Dr Grant, whom she respects, but is subsequently drugged, raped and has it all filmed by him, my stomach literally started churning. What a bloody douchebag! I get mad as a snake every time that I see that scene, and cannot help but feel a surge of justice whenever you see that sorry slab of meat again. What a loser.

american mary post scene

Sleepers (1996)
When a group of four friends get sent to Wilkinson Home for Boys, there are so many things that go wrong for them there that simply makes my blood boil. However, seeing as I already have a scene in a similar vein with American Mary, I am going to go with the cafeteria scene. A fight breaks out between the friends and the hardened kids at Wilkinson’s, warden/protector of the kids, Sean Nokes, takes it upon himself to break up the fight and humiliate the boys. At first they think he is there to rescue them, but it soon transpires that they are there purely for his entertainment. He orders them to get down on their hands and knees and eat the food that was so gracelessly spilled and messed on the floor – after all, he is not denying them their lunch!

breakinglove

Drive (2011)
The kiss that Driver and Irene share in the elevator. It is so gorgeous and perfect because not once does it happen in the movie, but it is ever building up to the moment when it will surely happen, and when it does it is sincerely rewarding. The lighting is perfect, the way Driver leans into Irene, the way time seems to stand still… it is all captured. It is amazing and takes my breath away. More often that not a kiss shared in a movie is almost perfunctory, just filled in there, or it happens due to expectations or just the way the moment needs to progress, but seldom does it hold the magic it is supposed to. For me it really was a thing of true beauty and it gets me each and every single time.

American History X (1998)
I know this is going to come out sounding all wrong, but I just need to explain it. I loved the scene where Derek Vinyard was placed under arrest. The camera, the black and white, the way he dropped to his knees with his hands behind his head… it all displayed his hate and bitterness clearly. His eyes burned with resentment and pride and his body language spoke of that anger and hate, too. It was one of the best depictions of managing to convey the pure hatred that was encapsulated, and Norton manages to bring that all across to the viewer – the sheer derangement of his character. It was by no means an inspiring scene or a “good on you man” scene or anything like that, it is just that I love the way Tony Kaye managed to get it so right.

american history x

Catch Me If You Can (2002)
This movie just had one of those great scenes in it that you just cannot help giggling at and later full out roar with laughter and one that I absolutely love watching. Frank Abagnale Jr has made a huge success of conning people into believing him to be things that he is not. One of these things is a doctor. He has watched plenty of movies and television series and observed them and read about them and is sure that he can pose as some doctor at a hospital and manages to get the job. However, one day a badly injured boy comes in and naturally his underlings rush to get his opinion, and Frank is overwhelmed by the scene that he comes upon. He actually has no idea how to handle the situation and no real expertise at all besides “do you concur?”, common among doctors. Trying desperately to keep his gag reflex under control, he rushes through whatever the other two doctors opinions are, desperately coughing out the infamous “do you concur?” line, making it sound like he has rendered a diagnosis and a way to continue care, as well as that he agrees with the doctors. Their shocked expressions that he would value their opinions and his desperation make the scene absolutely wonderful to watch.

02

About Zoë

I am 23 years old and I live in South Africa. I love to read, and I watch a lot of series and movies (they don’t make them like they used to!). I am currently studying part time, and I am thoroughly enjoying my course. I work full time, too. I am usually regarded as a Grammar Nazi. I am viewed as somewhat of a geek, I am crazy about Lord of the Rings, Batman (the initial two Tim Burton ones, and the last three Christopher Nolan ones), Star Wars, Harry Potter (although not those dreadful movies), Tim Burton, James Bond, Karin Slaughter, Quentin Tarantino and Christopher Nolan , as well as a few other things I am sure will come up from time to time. I shall be doing a lot of reviews on this blog, as I always enjoy getting my two cents out there about how I feel about certain books, movies and series. View all posts by Zoë

16 responses to “Breaking Emotions: Hate and Love

Your two cents go here

The Critical Cinephile

A means to broadening your cinematic horizons

Isaacs Book Reviews

The very slowly reviewed library!

Cindy Bruchman

Let's talk about places, films, and books

Vic's Movie Den

"Slow ahead. I'll slow ahead. Come on down and chum some of this Shit!" - "Jaws"

what about the twinkie?

Opinionated idiot. Obsessed with movies. Film news, reviews and righteous views.

THE ENIGMA MACHINE

EATING: MOVIES | POOPING: [UNKNOWN]

thehorencoeffort

With an aim to bring numerous creative pursuits together to one place; The Horenco Effort is that place. I have a love for music, film and art, fitness and food, this blog will be my outlet to post about all those things and more :) njoy

Oracle of Film

Song of the Week: Indiana- Solo Dancing

Mojo's Work

A Weirdo & His Stuff

Miss Dee STyle

Fashion, love... and everything in between

Roonil Wazlib

"Wit beyond measure, is a man's greatest treasure!"

Gareth Rhodes Film Reviews

Spoiler free film reviews

Snap Crackle Watch!

A blog dedicated to television and movies

renxkyoko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

Fairytale Pictures

Me, my life, my dreams but mostly films

Nishita's Rants and Raves

about books, movies, restaurants, and anything else under the sun...

MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

For all your movie and music nourishment

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

Fast Film Reviews

for those who like their movie reviews short and sweet

The Verbal Spew Review

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 595 other followers

