Review: Prince Avalanche (2013)

prince avalanche poster

“So when you say something negative and insult the other person… You’re really just showing that other person what an unsure-of-yourself-type person that you really feel like you are.”
- Lance

Alvin (Paul Rudd) is doing his girlfriend a favour and takes her brother Lance (Emile Hirsch) out to the countryside to do some work. They are repainting roads that were wrecked by a wildfire a while ago. The job is monotonous, time consuming and incredibly lonely. Lance is not interested in the job in the slightest and wishes for nothing more than to return to normality and go home to the city to be with his friends again as well as around other people.

prince avalanche

Definitely not the way Lance was picturing his life…

Alvin, on the other hand, enjoys the solitude and loves his job and is using the time to learn a new language. He is trying to teach Lance a few things about life, responsibility and growing up, even though Lance does not seem susceptible to learning anything due to being incredibly set in his ways. The two do not see eye to eye but are stuck together until the weekend comes, a time where Lance decides to go into the city and Alvin decides to stay out and camp, taking total advantage of being alone, and continually writes letter to his girlfriend Meredith.

prince avalanche still

“True love is just like a ghost – people talk about it but very few have actually seen it.” – Alvin

One weekend of partying in town and things are completely changed for Alvin and Lance. Lance does not get laid as he was hoping he would, and the two guys finally have something to communicate about. There is a truck driver (Lance LeGault) on the road that drops by them occasionally and has a drink or so with them. Lance cannot understand why Alvin is out in the sticks and not home with his sister, and why he always sends money back to Meredith, feeling that she is taking advantage of Alvin. Alvin will not hear anything bad about Meredith. However, she writes a letter and everything changes.

prince avalanche owrking

“There’s a difference between being alone and being lonely. I reap the rewards of solitude.” – Alvin

Alvin is angry with Meredith for leaving him, and takes it out on Lance. Lance is not the brightest tool in the shed, and responds bitterly and angrily, which is not the best thing to be able to have seeing as they are in the middle of nowhere, camping and working. Will Lance ever learn any of the lessons that Alvin is trying to teach him? Will Alvin ever realise that he, too, can learn from Lance, or will he remain pigheaded enough to think he knows it all? What will the two of them do now? Will either of them learn anything new?

I am going with a 5/10 here, whether people agree with me or not. I found this film to be incredibly long and incredibly tedious. I think there were a royal fiveminutes that managed to generate a smile from me. I felt like my time was wasted. I didn’t enjoy the story much at all, which was a pity seeing as the actors weren’t bad and I really wanted to like it. The only thing that carried the story the little bit that it went was Paul Rudd and Emile Hirsch. I really, really didn’t like Lance’s character – he was a real tool and annoyance and superbly rude. His nice moments were few and far between, though Emile Hirsch was very well cast to carry him out. Paul Rudd’s portrayal of Alvin was actually really good as it goes out of his regular comfort zone, and he does it incredibly well.  The settings were slow, the pace was non-existent, the story was weak and it was boring for me in so many places. There, I said it. I know some people praised it for being an alright comedy drama, but there was nothing that I was enamoured with (except maybe chasing someone with a wrench and throwing things at them). It almost felt like it was trying to go in a Napoleon Dynamite kind of way but missing the bus. I also really didn’t like the jittery camera work for this movie at the best of times though I really liked the sets they were working in. The conclusion was also incredibly sudden for me, and didn’t really explain much or wrap it up. I suppose there really are worse movies to watch in your precious free time, but after the many positive reviews I read about this I was not impressed.

About Zoë

I am 23 years old and I live in South Africa. I love to read, and I watch a lot of series and movies (they don’t make them like they used to!). I am currently studying part time, and I am thoroughly enjoying my course. I work full time, too. I am usually regarded as a Grammar Nazi. I am viewed as somewhat of a geek, I am crazy about Lord of the Rings, Batman (the initial two Tim Burton ones, and the last three Christopher Nolan ones), Star Wars, Harry Potter (although not those dreadful movies), Tim Burton, James Bond, Karin Slaughter, Quentin Tarantino and Christopher Nolan , as well as a few other things I am sure will come up from time to time. I shall be doing a lot of reviews on this blog, as I always enjoy getting my two cents out there about how I feel about certain books, movies and series. View all posts by Zoë

25 responses to “Review: Prince Avalanche (2013)

Your two cents go here

The Critical Cinephile

A means to broadening your cinematic horizons

Isaacs Book Reviews

The very slowly reviewed library!

Cindy Bruchman

Let's talk about places, films, and books

Vic's Movie Den

"Slow ahead. I'll slow ahead. Come on down and chum some of this Shit!" - "Jaws"

what about the twinkie?

Opinionated idiot. Obsessed with movies. Film news, reviews and righteous views.

THE ENIGMA MACHINE

EATING: MOVIES | POOPING: [UNKNOWN]

thehorencoeffort

With an aim to bring numerous creative pursuits together to one place; The Horenco Effort is that place. I have a love for music, film and art, fitness and food, this blog will be my outlet to post about all those things and more :) njoy

Oracle of Film

Song of the Week: Tove Lo ft. Hippie Sabotage - Stay High

Mojo's Work

A Weirdo & His Stuff

Miss Dee STyle

Fashion, love... and everything in between

Flashback/Backslide

A guide through the wilderness of new releases.

Roonil Wazlib

"Wit beyond measure, is a man's greatest treasure!"

Gareth Rhodes Film Reviews

Spoiler free film reviews

Snap Crackle Watch!

A blog dedicated to television and movies

renxkyoko's space

Just another WordPress.com site

Fairytale Pictures

Me, my life, my dreams but mostly films

Nishita's Rants and Raves

about books, movies, restaurants, and anything else under the sun...

MOVIES & MUSIC CAFE

For all your movie and music nourishment

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

Fast Film Reviews

for those who like their movie reviews short and sweet

The Verbal Spew Review

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

