Review: Shutter Island – Dennis Lehane

dennis lehane shutter island cover

In 1954, US Marshal Edward “Teddy” Daniels meets up with his new partner Chuck Aule on the way to head up an investigation on Shutter Island. The island houses a mental asylum for the criminally insane and is run by Dr John Cawley called Ashecliffe. Teddy has never worked with Chuck before, but the two soon click. Arriving on the island, they are taken to discuss the particulars with Dr Cawley: the missing patient is Rachel Solondo, who is on Shutter Island for having killed her three children. She has disappeared from a locked room upon the island, has not taken her shoes, and has not turned up in any search that the warden and his men have undertaken. Dr Cawley seems to have another way with dealing with patients, and does not seem overly keen on pharmacology as the answer or the radical surgical procedures, either.

Teddy is warring with himself while on the investigation, still pining for the loss of his wife, Dolores, who was killed in a house fire two years before that. He is battling with intense migraines that have plagued him for years. The two marshals set out to discover what happened to the missing patient Rachel Solondo, but seem to be met with resistance at every turn, irritating Teddy but also making him extremely suspicious. A massive storm is brewing, which soon turns to a fully fledged hurricane, trapping Teddy and Chuck on Shutter Island, for better of for worse. In Rachel Solondo’s room they discover a note she has written which they come to call “The Law of 4″, and the note is very cryptic. Teddy sets about cracking the code as well as investigating her disappearance more, but it soon becomes evident to Chuck that Teddy is working an angle that he has not shared with his partner.

Teddy has been looking into Ashecliffe for years, or more specifically, Ward C, which houses only the most dangerous criminal patients. A lead he knew outside of the hospital confided in him that they do some highly illegal things in the hospital, scary procedures, dodgy government sanctioned experiments, and that they also have a resident named Andrew Laeddis living on the island. Teddy has done what he could to get the Shutter Island assignment so that he might “stumble” upon Laeddis, the man responsible for his wife’s death, the man that cost Teddy everything he ever had, and so he has come to rectify things. Chuck questions Teddy’s motivations, but eventually agrees to help Teddy find Laeddis, if only to bring the man some peace. The more time that the marshals spend on the island, the more complicated matters become.

What if Dr Cawley deliberately had Teddy brought onto the island because he knew Teddy was looking into Laeddis? Will Teddy find Laeddis? If he does, what will he do? Will Teddy and Chuck be able to find Rachel Solondo? What happened to her? Why does nothing surrounding her disappearance make sense?

GRADE 8This novel was fantastically written and had great characters to follow. It was engaging and  had humour and drama and a wonderful puzzle to follow. I am so glad that I saw the movie before I read this (*GASP* yes, I actually just said that), because the movie was such a puzzle for me to work through, I didn’t know what was going to happen and I had no idea where it was going. Teddy is an interesting character, and Chuck was hilarious. Lehane is a wonderful writer, and I still cannot get over the fact that it took me so long to get to his work, although I am going through as much of it as I can get my hands on now! The prose flows simply and gracefully, and keeps you hooked at every page. Teddy’s history is terribly sad, and I liked how the marriage between him and Dolores was not painted as perfect, making his guilt all the more palpable when you read it. The events that transpire are very interesting, and there was no fault to be found with the pacing of this book either. I don’t know, I am a big fan of the story, so this book was just my cup of tea, this is the kind of thing that I like. I would highly recommend checking out this book if you have not done so already.

About Zoë

I am 24 years old and I live in South Africa. I love to read, and I watch a lot of series and movies (they don’t make them like they used to!). I am currently studying part time, and I am thoroughly enjoying my course. I work full time, too. I am usually regarded as a Grammar Nazi. I am viewed as somewhat of a geek, I am crazy about Lord of the Rings, Batman (the initial two Tim Burton ones, and the last three Christopher Nolan ones), Star Wars, Harry Potter (although not those dreadful movies), Tim Burton, James Bond, Karin Slaughter, Leonardo DiCaprio, Quentin Tarantino, and Christopher Nolan , as well as a few other things I am sure will come up from time to time. I shall be doing a lot of reviews on this blog, as I always enjoy getting my two cents out there about how I feel about certain books, movies and series. View all posts by Zoë

36 responses to “Review: Shutter Island – Dennis Lehane

Your two cents go here

A Reading Writer

Book reads. News sheets. Random feeds.

flickspot

A place for films, books, lists and a whole host of other things. Expect very little discernible pattern.

ccpopculture

Pop-Culture Reviews and Analysis in 200 Words (or more)

My Filmviews

My opinion about the movies i watch, your reaction

Films and Things

"But this is life. This isn't a movie" -Scream, 1996

Bananas About Movies

Film reviews, trailers, articles, bananas, fresh from the UK!

Curnblog

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

Committed to Celluloid

Short reviews from a fan of all things film

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

Movies After Dark

A Variety Of Film Reviews With As Little Spoliers As Possible.

The Vern's Video Vortex.

A movie site dedicated to Classic, Cult, and other Fim Treasures.

Lovely Literature

Musings on everything bookish from a character polygamist and the forgiving realist

silence cunning exile ... maple syrup

An Irish Writer in Canada

bakedmoviereviews

A blog for movie enthusiasts and weed lovers

mykindofmovie

A fine WordPress.com site

Canadian Cinephile

"Always make the audience suffer as much as possible." - Alfred Hitchcock

we're all mad here...

slightly nuts. blissfully sarcastic. absolutely unapologetic

Jordan and Eddie (The Movie Guys)

Australia based film fans - Like Margaret and David, only so much younger

Consumed by Film

Live life one film at a time

Let's Go To The Movies

My reviews and views on the movies . . . new and old . . .

Drew's Movie Reviews

Movie reviews from your average dude

VampirePlacebo * Mel's Entertainment Page

Movies, TV, books, music, makeup, fashion, and whatever else zooms through my head!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 766 other followers

