Review: The Mist (2007)

the_mist

“I’m not sure I believe it, and I was here. What we saw was impossible. You know that, don’t you? What do we say? How do we… convince them?”
– David Drayton

So today I watched The Mist in it’s entirety. I have never really sat through the film. Not longer than the first twenty minutes or so, I don’t think. But today was that day. I was going to test the waters, and see what it is all about. Stephen King is, after all, old school horror. So the movies are the same. Nowhere near as grand as the books (with two exceptions: The Green Mile and The Shawshank Redemption), because at the level that King writes, you just simply cannot convey that entirely to screen.

An electrical storm rips up a quiet town, and nobody thinks anything of it. There is extensive damage, but all will be dealt with in due time. David Drayton (Thomas Jane) and his son, Billy (Nathan Gamble), head over to the supermarket to collect some supplies with their highly unlikable neighbour, Brent Norton (Andre Braugher). A mist has rolled in over the lake, and no resident thinks anything of it, although mist has never before pervaded the lake as such. On the way to the market, they see heavy military presence heading in the direction that they have just left, on the way back toward the mist. Once at the grocery store, a man comes tearing in, screaming that there is something in the mist, that the doors should be closed. Evidently, no one believes him, until someone runs for their car to leave, and gets killed in the process. Suddenly, people are terrified: there might be weight to Dan Miller’s (Jeffrey DeMunn) words. The store gets closed up. David worries about his wife, and that is only the tip of the iceberg.

the mist

A young store bagger gets killed by whatever creatures are out in the mist. Still, no one believes that there are any creatures worth worrying about out there, and so the first grave mistake is made. When it becomes apparent that is it not some elaborate joke to freak out the out-of-towners, people start worrying. The situation is not appeased when the town crazy, Mrs. Carmody (Marcia Gay Harden) preaches of Armageddon, the end of days, and making things right with their maker. People try to band together, but her ravings are starting to drive a split down the group, and outside, in the mist, new and terrible creatures are prowling about.

I would rate The Mist 7/10. It was not a godawful movie, and it kept me entertained. I see a large section of The Walking Dead’s cast had some starring roles in this film, which was amusing for me, so well done on Frank Darabont for sticking to his cast! Also, he has successfully brought another King adaption to the screen, and he is so good. They just work well together. I wish I could express my level of irritation with Mrs. Carmody. I was prepared to kill her off myself. I cannot stand the deception, manipulation and how two faced she was! It was shocking. She orders the execution of a military man, Private Jessup (Sam Witwer), as though she has been deemed the medium of judge, jury and executioner. It was good to see how the film demonstrated the ease at which the human mind falters, and how fear can drive people to do insane things. Overall, not a bad watch.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Mist (2007)

      • theipc says:

        No – I don’t think so – I really loved the short story when I was a kid… I think I was just disappointed, but I haven’t watched it since it came out on DVD (and that was back when I smoked a lot of grass 🙂 ). Remind me sometime and I’ll queue it up and watch it again 🙂

        Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

