Rapid Review: Django Unchained (2012)

Django Unchained

“Gentlemen, you had my curiosity. But now you have my attention.”
– Calvin Candie

django unchained training

King Schultz is simply the best!

django unchained king schultz

 

GRADE 9YES! After all this time, all the excitement, the time has finally arrived for me! I am sure I damn near drove you all insane (most notably Chris, Ryan and Tim – sorry, forgot to link) what with posting about it, all the eagerly reading reviews and lamenting the fact that I have not yet seen this film. Tarantino pulled out all the stops, as per usual. It was a really rough thing to watch certain things, and to see the slavery, the despicable Mandingo fights, the injustice suffered due to racism of its time, and the total disregard for fellow human beings and their freedom. However, Tarantino again blew me away with the style that he brought all that drama out and made it tangible, all the while weaving it into a solid story. I know this may sound dreadful, but he packed in plenty of uproariously hilarious humour (but naturally, placed correctly). I laughed so hard at certain places, especially with the hooded group riding in with their lack of sight. Leonardo DiCaprio was again a pleasure to watch, and I was highly entertained by the total role switch of Christoph Waltz from outrageous racist German to a humanitarian German. He had me in stitches, however, being the lunatic that he was. The film was also visually appealing, and it would not be a Tarantino without crazily exaggerated blood, a serious showdown of note, and some core and/or lead character being taken down in a brutal blaze of glory. Overall, this movie was definitely worth the wait and the hype, and lived up to all the expectations that I had for it, and truly rocked my socks. It was worth the wait, and is highly recommended, though if you are not one that is able to stomach violence, then this will most certainly unnerve you and likely not be your cup of tea. Well done, absolutely!

13 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Django Unchained (2012)

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks! Long, yes, but Tarantino manages to pack that length with enough stuff to not make you want to rip out your hair! It was really fantastic!

      Like

    • Zoë says:

      As much as I wish I could claim such exorbitant willpower, it had more to do with extenuating circumstances haha! It was a lovely movie, definitely something I will be watching again!

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

