Rapid Review: The Amityville Horror (2005)

The-Amityville-Horror-movie-poster

“Mrs. Lutz, get you and your family out of that house. Right now!”
– Father Callaway

amityville horror guest

Also – this was obviously for science…

amityville horror 2005 ryan reynolds

GRADE 6.5I know that it was not the most popular of films, or the most appreciated adaption of this tale, but I found the movie to be rather enjoyable – shoot me. I liked it. Maybe that is because I watched this without thinking of the true story, without trying to picture it in reality, and without having seen the original one in years. Makes a difference, I tell you. I watched it for what it was – another film. Ryan Reynolds is usually such a fun actor, and he can go more serious, but at times I felt that this might be a stretch for him, but in a sense it is good to see him out there doing something other than a cocky character. He pulled it off the majority of the time. I thought the film was shot very nicely, it all looked very nice and well put together. There were jump scares that I feel were more executed due to sounds and quick flits of camera, but they were definitely better than most. As is typical of a horror, the dialogue was a little weak, but I have to give this film credit for the entertainment that it gave forth – for me at any rate. I liked it, and feel that it is a lovely addition to any horror evening should you want to see it.

17 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Amityville Horror (2005)

  1. Ryan says:

    Great review. You gave it a fair score! It’s really not that bad and it’s not like the original film is all that perfect either. It’s pretty fun to see Reynolds crack up in the film too! I’ve actually gotten to see the famous house in person in Amityville, Long Island. Not as creepy as you would think!

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      True that. This one looked pretty good visually, too, something the original lacked. Heck, maybe I have to watch that one again, too, sometime!

      Like

  2. angelicreader says:

    I am a self confessed, well know (in my lovely circle of F&F) wimp. I don’t do scary movies. I don’t quite know if a 7 is enough to get me to watch it but thanks for sharing your thoughts. I do enjoy Ryan Reynolds though. He has really come into his own.

    Like

  3. False Positive says:

    Haha, I am going through a list of your movies and I must say, you are super brave for concuring some of these films. I watched the documentary of this and I made a deal that it would stop there, lol! Very cool review, maybe one day when I grow a pair – I’ll attempt this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold. Chat with us!

