Review: Allegiant – Veronica Roth

allegiant book cover

Divergent #3

SYNOPSIS: The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningliess. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend to complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love. – via Goodreads

GRADE 7This is the third and final book in the Divergent trilogy. When the book began, I was wondering how Veronica Roth was going to pull everything together, seeing as I was not a particularly big fan of Insurgent, purely because it had potential that fell pretty flat in too many places. There was plenty of page filler in this one, but overall it all comes together rather nicely at the end. Tris finally got her things together in this one, and a much greater character emerged from here. Not overbearing, no longer a weakling and a sissy, not a bitch, not too insistent, not too courageous, but the correct mix of everything to make her an admirable heroine, and far better than the self-serving Katniss Everdeen in my honest opinion. I was glad to see things settle more with her and Tobias. The way the book was written threw me a lot at first seeing as the story unfolded from both Tobias’s as well as Tris’s perspectives, though once I got used to it, it was actually nice to see how someone else felt about everything, and not just anyone else, but the one character that you can actually feel an affiliation for (a lot of the other characters just don’t become real or a part of you, they are just there, so no emotion is attached to them). Caleb was again his unremitting self, annoying and superior and cowering all at once. The whole storyline with the genetically pure and the genetically damaged was interesting, but not all that well executed at times. I do like the way that genetics became such an issue such a long ways down the line. I must admit that of all the characters I find Tobias’s to be the most in-depth of the lot, and having far more layers that define him, and it is lovely to learn these things about him in Allegiant, which we certainly would not have learned from any of the other books seeing as they were not told from his point of view, only Tris’s. One thing that I want to give the books credit for is that although the relationship between Tris and Tobias got under my skin, it was also a beautiful one at times, and that was highlighted strongly in this book. I must say that after all that I went through in this trilogy, it wasn’t that bad, and definitely worth checking out.

SPOILER: I must say that it was pretty sad to see how Tobias dealt with losing Tris, though I am really glad he decided to honour her memory and not wipe his mind blank, though I am positive it would have been the much easier thing to do.

23 thoughts on “Review: Allegiant – Veronica Roth

    • Zoë says:

      Yeah it wasn’t a bad trilogy, I must say that I enjoyed it quite a lot more than I expected. Roth’s writing has improved a lot over the course of the series. I had some irritations with Insurgent, the second book, but overall this series was something a little different again.

      Would be interested to hear what you think about them!

      Like

    • Zoë says:

      The books interested me a lot and I found Tris to be a far more excellent lead than Katniss and was and I was so thankful for the lack of a love triangle. I enjoyed them just as much as The Hunger Games, definitely worth checking out. I am looking forward to Divergent, it has the potential to be a bloody good trilogy if done right. The trailer looked pretty loyal to the book too, now I just need to see how the cast works the characters. 🙂

      Like

      • ruth says:

        Wow, better than Katniss? I think the actress playing her is quite good, forgot her name but I like her in The Descendants.

        I hope it lives up to the books, though my first reaction of the trailer is the romance between the protagonist and the hunky trainer seems predictable, ahah. But at least there won’t be a love triangle!

        Like

      • Zoë says:

        Yeah Katniss is fantastic on screen but a serious pain in the books for me.

        It comes across as that, but it is actually a beautiful thing. Yeah sheesh I am so over those damn things haha!

        Like

      • ruth says:

        Well the guy playing her love interest is pretty cute. Waaaay too young for me I’m sure, that’s why I prefer the more mature gent like Richard Armitage, ehm 😉

        Like

      • Zoë says:

        It’s already there?! Ah you must have gotten your googly eyes on 😛 I have a friend who truly understands you in this regard. Still seriously contemplating whether or not this is worth trooping into theatres for… The trailers looked pretty good and your last post was convincing. If I have time I think I might. The Wolf of Wall Street is what I am really holding out for haha!

        Like

      • ruth says:

        It was a press screening that I went to, it opens this Friday. If you like the first Hobbit movie then yeah it’s worth going to the theater to see I think.

        I’m seeing The Wolf of Wall Street next week, looking forward to that also.

        Like

    • Zoë says:

      Ooooh! Definitely a dystopian, and a pretty good one! You should check out the trilogy, it won’t take forever to read (I got so hooked it took me three days). I must say it was nice and refreshing and definitely had something going for it. I was impressed with Roth’s work, especially seeing as she is a first time writer.

      Do you read on a tablet/ereader or physical books?

      Like

      • Tom says:

        Cool, yeah I just now noticed you mentioned this is the third installment in a trilogy. I’ll get right into it! And i’ll def be buying the physical copies, that’s the only way to read!! 😀

        Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

