Review: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014)

The-Amazing-Spider-Man-2-Poster

“Soon everyone in this city will know how it is to live in my world. A world without power, without mercy, a world without Spider-Man.”
– Electro

Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) is still fighting crime under his guise as Spider-Man. Graduating from high school alongside his girlfriend Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone), his life is just setting out to begin. Peter, meanwhile, is struggling to deal with the fact that he promised Gwen’s deceased father, police Captain George Stacy (Denis Leary), that he would stay away from Gwen as to keep her out of danger. Oscorp employee Max Dillon (Jaimie Foxx) meet Spider-Man one day when Spider-Man is out fighting crime, and develops a rather obsessive interest in Spider-Man. Dillon is an extremely socially awkward person. Peter ultimately wishes to leave Gwen and she does the breaking up, saying she cannot deal with his emotional swings concerning the promises that he has made her father.

the amazing spider man gwen and petr

“You’re Spider-Man and I love that, but I love Peter Parker more.” – Gwen Stacy

Norman Orborn (Chris Cooper) meets with his son Harry (Dane DeHaan) shortly before he dies, telling Harry that he, too, will die of the illness his father suffers as it is a genetic disease, but tells Harry he has left the entire Osborn fortune to Harry, maybe he can save himself. The two have a very strained relationship, and Harry has a lot of things he cannot forgive his father for. When Peter learns that Norman Osborn has passed away and that Harry is in town, he meets with him. The two of them click back into their rhythm easily again and spend some time together. Dillon, on the other hand, is dealing with some awful things at work, and an accident as Oscorp kills him. Dillon comes back later, but there is something wrong with him. Going into the city, his powers are amplified with the energy flow from the grid beneath the city, and Spider-Man swoops in to stop him. Spider-Man believes that Dillon is innocent and not responsible or in control of what happened to him, but Dillon’s own personal issues rapidly become a problem and he learns to the more evil and angry side.

the amazing spider man harry and peter

“We have the power now. We literally, can change the world.” – Harry Osborn

Dillon is caught and locked up at Ravenscroft Institute, where scientists are running tests on him. Harry is unaware of this, as well as the death of Dillon, and Donald Menken (Colm Feore), an Oscorp board member,  is using it to blackmail Harry at a later stage. Menken is enraged that twenty year old Harry got the Osborn empire. Harry is looking for a way to cure his illness, and contact Peter, requesting he speak to Spider-Man. Harry is convinced that Spider-Man’s blood can save him. Peter denies the request, and Harry flies into a rage when Spider-Man pays him a visit and denies him the request, too. Peter, meanwhile, is looking into his parents’ past, trying to uncover why they left him and why they were killed. Peter is struggling to let Gwen go, who is looking to move to England and study at Oxford University on a scholarship. Harry approaches Electro, the mantle Dillon has taken up after his capture, after Menken manages to successfully usurp the Osborn throne. Electro gets to kill Spider-Man, whom he believes has betrayed him, and Harry gets access to the spider research that Oscorp houses.

the amazing spider man 2 harry and electro

“Think bigger, Max! I’m not the one you want. You want Spider-Man and I can give him to you!” – Harry Osborn

Will Electro carry out a successful attack on Spider-Man? What will happen to the friendship between Harry and Peter once Harry makes his hatred for Spider-Man clear? Will Harry regain power of Oscorp? Will Electro ever relinquish his bad ways? Will Peter learn more about his parents’ deaths? Will Gwen and Peter ever be able to work something out in their relationship?

the amazing spider man 2 goblin and gwen

“Everyday I wake up knowing that no matter how many lives I protect, no matter how many people call me a hero, someone even more powerful could change everything.” – Peter Parker

A 7/10 for The Amazing Spider-Man 2. I am still Team Garfield. All the way. Go vote. Andrew Garfield was again entertaining and amusing as Peter Parker, and a fantastic choice. Emma Stone was again excellent as Gwen Stacy, and I liked the fact that their relationship was more fleshed out this time. Those two have stunning chemistry! Dane DeHaan absolutely thrilled me in here, and was the big reason I was insistent on seeing it in cinema. While I was not sold on the Green Goblin completely (it just had to do with the fact that he looked a little ridiculous and all), I cannot deny that DeHaan was thrilling. I just loved seeing him on screen, and my faith was greatly rewarded (not that I expected much different). I loved the relationship between Harry and Peter, though I really wished that Webb had spent more time developing it, maybe saving the Goblin for later. I felt the villains were a little rushed here, and certainly needed a little bit more work. The Goblin popped up way too fast, and Electro definitely needed some more filling out. Neither villain resonated with me. I thought the effects to be decent, though sometimes the CGI was excessive. The humour was great, I had quite a few laughs in here, and that is always fun. Overall it was definitely entertaining, and I liked that. It was nice to see a bit more going on between Peter and his Aunt May, a lovely addition there.

40 thoughts on “Review: The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014)

  1. Writer Loves Movies says:

    Great review Zoe. I agree the villains felt rushed – a shame as I think the ideas behind them were pretty good. Loved the performances but ultimately felt that the script didn’t pull the plot together very neatly and left the film feeling a bit unfinished.

    Like

  2. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop says:

    Nice review m’dear. I continue to be impressed with DeHaan, I wanted to see more of him here to be honest. I thought this was good in parts but it was a bit schmaltzy at times and was too long. Love Emma Stone as Gwen Stacey though.

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Thank you ever so kindly, fair Chris. I know, I was like this could have been a solo outing for Harry and I would have been happy hahahaha! This was definitely not a fantastic movie, but I enjoyed it, though there were certainly flaws!

      Like

  3. coolone160 says:

    Great review! Andrew Garfield has infused a fresh breath of life in the Spiderman franchise and Emma Stone looks more promising than her predecessor,Kirsten Dunst,
    I have heard there are some cool special effects in this movie.Your review makes me more eager to watch it! Thanks! Not gonna miss this one!

    Like

  4. keith7198 says:

    It’s good to hear that this is a pretty decent movie. Honestly my expectations were quite low. None of the trailers excited me. Sounds like there may be more there than I gave it credit for.

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      It is pretty decent. Sounds like a lot of people were not really interested in checking it out, but it really isn’t bad. Would love to hear your thoughts should you get to it!

      Like

  5. theipc says:

    Warmest JB,

    I’m still not convinced to shell out a bunch of hard earned money to see this in the theater. Will give it a go when it’s on demand and I can do some beer drinking.

    My Love,

    Chop

    P.S. Garfield is a pussboy.

    Like

  6. caragale says:

    Eeeee I’m going to come back to this because I’m seeing it on Thursday! I’m trying to keep my expectations down though–the consensus seems to be good, not great, eh?

    Like

  7. Tim The Film Guy says:

    Great review. I loved the film and thought the new lighter more comic book feel of the film made Spider-man finally feel like Spider-man.

    Very much looking forward to the next one, BRING ON SINISTER SIX! 😀

    Like

  8. snapcracklewatch says:

    Good review! I have never saw the first Amazing Spiderman so I can’t judge Garfield’s performance. But I do love that actor, I think he is great and he’s so adorable. You guys are all making me want to see this movie now! I really like Dane DeHaan and I’m glad he did a great job and you came out liking him even more. YAY!

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks Melissa! Man, he is awesome, and so damn cute. Everyone should just leave him alone! Hmmmm, watch the first and then get in on this, it is worth it. Ah, DeHaan can do absolutely no wrong in my eyes, it is craziness. This was no exception!

      Like

  9. table9mutant says:

    Great review, Zoe! Thanks for the link! That’s weird – I didn’t get the pingback thingy or whatever you call it popping up. Or I may have missed it because I suck & I’m so far behind. You know, I agree with EVERYTHING you said here! (Think you maybe just liked DeHaan a little more than I did). They definitely needed to develop that relationship more and I agree the villains all felt rushed but I loved that we got a lot more from his relationships with his Aunt & with Gwen. I think people are FAR too harsh on these two films. They’re not the BEST superhero movies but they’re solid enough films. And they’re fun. : )

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Thank you kindly! Check in your comments by pending? Hmmmm. Yes, I think we were on par with this one, and it wouldn’t shock me if I liked him more 😛 He is like… my younger DiCaprio obsession…

      Yeah development was a little underplayed here. I really think people hate on these way too much, I found them to be exceptionally entertaining! Agreed there again! I laugh a lot with these two!

      Like

  10. Tom says:

    Very good review Zoe, it’s obvious you took more from it than I did. I REALLY wanted to sing this thing’s praises but the writing was pretty darn lacking for my tastes. Either that, or I’m just a picky-choosy viewer!

    But in honesty, yeah. Garfield and Stone have wonderful chemistry in these films and it’s great to see more of it here. I just hoped the rest of the story resonated more too

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Yeah, was just reading your review haha! Yeah I really wanted to like this more than I did, but I still liked it more than YOU did hahaha.

      They are great together, but there was a lot that was underplayed in this film…

      Like

      • Tom says:

        Nice! Yeah, that much is clear I guess lol. Loved the first one though. Maybe I should go back.

        And on Dane DeHaan, I do really like the guy. The script he had to work with was pretty bad so he did good with what he had. His part was decent enough but yeah it all came together too fast. . .

        Like

      • Zoë says:

        🙂 The first one was amazing.

        He did the best he could, and they really could have made him AMAZING, though I honestly feel he is a better Harry than Franco (you might hate me for that), though Franco had the more developed one…

        Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

