Top Ten Casting Choices That We Are All Grateful Were Changed Before The Movie Was Made: Movie Rob

I am thrilled to present movie watching machine Rob of Movie Rob on my blog today, who had a lovely idea for his list, and there are many on here that I think you will all be able to agree with! If you do not already follow Rob’s blog, I would highly recommend it. Rob also runs an awesome feature called Genre Grandeur every month, in which you submit your favourite film in the given genre that has been selected, join it, it is a lot of fun!

Should you be interested in submitting a Top Ten list, draw up a list of either your top ten personal favourite movies or a top ten list by a specific genre/theme and send it along to me at sporadiczoe@hotmail.com. Hope to see a few more lists!

movierob

When choosing a cast for a movie, many directors and producers have certain actors in mind for particular roles and sometimes they are correct on their first thoughts and sometimes, they aren’t.

Here is a list of 10 casting decisions that we are quite grateful for. If the original choice hadn’t turned down these iconic roles (or in one particular case, been fired after they filmed for 5 weeks (#8), our view of EVERY one of these iconic roles and the movies they appear in would be seen much differently by the entire world.

10. Mick Jagger – Irwin Fletcher in Fletch (1985)

mick jagger

9. Gwyneth Paltrow – Rose DeWitt Bukater in Titanic (1997)

gwenyth paltrow

8. Eric Stoltz – Marty McFly in Back to the Future (1985)

back to the future

7. Daryl Hannah – Vivian Ward in Pretty Woman (1990)

darryl hannah

6. John Travolta – Forrest Gump in Forrest Gump (1994)

john travolta

5. Michelle Pfieffer – Clarice Starling in Silence of the Lambs (1991)

michelle pfeiffer

4. Sylvester Stallone – Axel Foley in Beverly Hills Cop (1984)

sylvester stallone

3. Tom Selleck – Indiana Jones in Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

indiana jones

2. Richard Gere – John McClane in Die Hard (1988)

richard gere

1. Gene Hackman – Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lambs (1991)

hannibal lecter

About Zoë

I am 25 years old and I live in South Africa. I love to read, and I watch a lot of series and movies. I am currently studying part time, and I am thoroughly enjoying my course. I work full time, too. I am viewed as somewhat of a geek, I am crazy about The Lord of the Rings, Batman (the initial two Tim Burton ones, and the last three Christopher Nolan ones), Star Wars, Harry Potter (although not those dreadful movies), The Godfather, James Bond, Hannibal, Indiana Jones, mob movies, war movies, reading as much as I can and binge watching television series. Some of my favourite authors are Karin Slaughter, Stephen King, Dennis Lehane, Joe Hill, John Green, Thomas Harris, and Stieg Larsson. I love film, and have extensive lists of people who's work I enjoy. I am a ridiculously huge fan of Leonardo DiCaprio (ask anyone, they'll confirm it), and I honestly believe Christopher Nolan can do no wrong. Quentin Tarantino never fails to thrill me, either, and Martin Scorsese is phenomenal. I review a lot on my blog because I love to share my opinion about things and get into some great discussions, so please feel free to chat with me! View all posts by Zoë

81 responses to “Top Ten Casting Choices That We Are All Grateful Were Changed Before The Movie Was Made: Movie Rob

Be bold. Chat with us!

movieblort

No-nonsense, unqualified, uneducated & spoiler free movie reviews.

Coolsville

From classic to obscure: film, music, and book reviews

Deutsch Trailer

Kino Vorschau Highlights! ©

GEEK BLOGGER UK

Geeky about film, tv and comic books!

Cameron's Pit of Terror

Reviews & views on horror, trash, cult & so-bad-they're-good movies

epileptic moondancer

I like to write. Let's go dancing..

Ramblings of a cinephile

random thoughts on films

Book Guy Reviews

quality reviews for the cultural connoisseur

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

The Creative Fox Den

“One must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star.” - Friedrich Nietzsche

Return to the 80s

80's Pop Culture and News

The Telltale Mind

Thoughts on Movies, Music, Comics and stuff.

iwantedwings

A Geeky Feminist's Musings on Visual & POP Culture

Catch * all

an entertainment & culture blog.

Ampersand

Contenido extremadamente importante

just my rating

a human being writing about movies

The Girl that Loved to Review

Reviews of films, TV shows, and books.

Sidekick Reviews

Sci-Fi Movies TV Gaming News & Reviews

MoonProject

Articles for you, by you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 910 other followers

