Rapid Review: The Sacrament (2013)

SACRAMENT POSTER

“We were doing something great down here. We were gonna change the world. This was only the beginning. Why couldn’t you leave us alone? What harm were we doing down here?”
 Father

SYNOPSIS: A news team trails a man as he travels to an undisclosed location to find his missing sister. Upon entering “Eden Parish” and meeting the community’s leader, it becomes apparent to the newcomers that this paradise may not be as it seems.- via IMDB

1-the-sacrament

GRADE 7This is just another one of the found footage films I have seen recently. This came in highly recommended by Eric of The IPC (incidentally, Chop, I am starting to wonder if you have some secretive found footage fetish or something). Aside from that, nothing fresh or new or anything like that (again). Albeit that it is pretty formulaic and all, it was shot very well, and there was a lot of attention to detail… with the exception of the scene with the handcuffs and the chair which springs to mind. Some things missed the mark a little, and it was a slow burn (which is really not a problem for me). The pacing was alright, I was never stone bored or anything like that. The movie definitely conveyed that cult feeling, and cannot be faulted for that. It was entertaining and well shot, but it feels as though Ti West may have been wasting his talents here, jumping into the found footage fountain. The acting was decent, the cast alright, and Gene Jones was excellent as Father. Watching A.J. Bowen and Joe Swanberg getting along so well was pretty entertaining for me seeing as how they hated each other in You’re Next (2013). Definitely worth checking out at least once if you have not done so already.

28 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Sacrament (2013)

  1. Ryan says:

    I enjoyed this one quite a bit but I can definitely see where you’re coming from. It doesn’t exactly offer anything new but I really liked the characters and atmosphere.

    Like

  2. Joseph@thecinemamonster says:

    It’s a solid slow-burn, nothing more. Everything is done with care and executed with an above-average prowess. It’s a thriller that West could’ve done more with, yet it’s still better than a majority of films out there. Excellent Zoe :).

    Like

  3. ruth says:

    I’m not fond of found footage movies, they tend to give me a headache and makes me nauseous. Seems that a lot of horror movies are done this way, so another reason to avoid ’em, ahah.

    Like

  4. CMrok93 says:

    Having seen West’s past movies, I can’t help but feel disappointed by this one and at least realize that maybe he’s got a better idea out there. Then again though, you never know. Good review Zoe.

    Like

  5. caragale says:

    Argh I still wanna see this! I think it might’ve skipped the theaters here. :/ Doesn’t sound like anything super new, but I’m still curious. Good review, lady!

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks lady. It is worth checking out. Nothing new, but it was put together very well at the very least, so that is not too bad. Plus it isn’t a really long one, in case you just want a short and sweet viewing of something.

      Like

  6. theipc says:

    Sweetest JB,

    You’re right, I LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie. It almost all worked for me 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying a nice sleep and your soreness has disappeared.

    Love,

    YPSC

    #your

    Like

  7. Tom says:

    A very good quick-shot review Zoe! I like it! . . .and I’m pretty sure this is the first one I’ve read so I need to catch up.

    #blogmarathon #holyshitimbehind

    Like

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks a lot Tom 🙂 I am hoping to do a few more of these from time to time!

      Teehee, I don’t blame you, I also fell ridiculously behind recently, and I totally do not envy your game of catch up! :/

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

