Rapid Review: Housebound (2014)

HB POSTER FINAL_BLEED_3

“I only take the little things.”
– Eugene

SYNOPSIS: Kylie Bucknell is forced to return to the house she grew up in when the court places her on home detention. Her punishment is made all the more unbearable by the fact she has to live there with her mother Miriam – a well-intentioned blabbermouth who’s convinced that the house is haunted. Kylie dismisses Miriam’s superstitions as nothing more than a distraction from a life occupied by boiled vegetables & small-town gossip. However, when she too becomes privy to unsettling whispers & strange bumps in the night, she begins to wonder whether she’s inherited her overactive imagination, or if the house is in fact possessed by a hostile spirit who’s not particularly thrilled about her return. – via IMDB

housebound eugene

On a different note, Ryan Lampp, who played the most awesome Eugene, got Eric and myself all excited on Twitter!
#Eugene

housebound retweetchop eugene

GRADE 8

I have to say, Eric has been jumping up and down about this for a while, and I knew that it had to be good if it came in that highly recommended from him – It won’t let It watch crap. Anyhow, lined this up to check out with absolutely no idea what I was going to watch,  but saw about five minutes before starting that it was a horror comedy. Now look, I like horror comedy, though more often than not it fails on a few vital fronts. This can definitely not be said for Housebound. I had an absolute blast with this. It alternated between the horror and comedy aspects perfectly, and it had some good and proper laughs stashed away in it. I was initially worried about the fact that it is 106 minutes long, which might be pushing it for this genre, but that never once occurs to you when watching. Housebound was a quirky, funny watch that draws you in, that needs to be watched. What I liked about the movie is it knew what it wanted to be from the off, so there was none of this pussyfooting around while trying to find itself, which was refreshing. The cast is something I had fun with, too, and the conversations/arguments between Kylie and Amos. Seriously, who knew your parole officer would double as your paranormal investigator? Kylie, too, was a character that I wanted to slap and praise in equal measure. She was a rude, nasty bitch, but on the other hand didn’t scare easily, which was cool. It was sort of like the haunting had to beg her before getting under her skin. Also, this gave me one of my favourite characters I have seen in a long time: Eugene. I won’t say too much more, but if you have seen this, I am sure you have to give credit where credit is due! While there is nothing necessarily new about Housebound, the execution is just awesome and well worth checking out. Anyway, Housebound is a confident film that has been directed wonderfully, and was something new for me. I enjoyed it, and would highly recommend checking it out if you have not done so already. Seems the little independent films are coming out tops lately!

18 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Housebound (2014)

  1. Tom says:

    I’m glad you considered Kylie to be a “rude, nasty bitch” at times. Whew. I was going to say something similar b/c she really got on my nerves, but then again maybe that was supposed to happen!

    And yes, let us all #praiseeugene. Dude was awesome. Probably my favorite aspect of it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      She was a rude, nasty bitch, and totally not someone you identify with, but she also doesn’t take crap, and stands up for herself, which is cool. Refreshingly different, that’s what she is. After you figure out how the movie rolls and where she fits in, that is.

      ❤ Eugene was such a freaking fantastic surprise, and I absolutely adored him! He's the best!

      #IOnlyTakeTheLittleThings

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

