Review: 21 Jump Street (2012)

21 jump street poster

SYNOPSIS: A pair of underachieving cops are sent back to a local high school to blend in and bring down a synthetic drug ring. – via IMDB

Going in blind, I had no idea what was coming. Needless to say, I absolutely loved how this all came together.

These two had hopes and dreams for after the academy… and definitely a different vision of reality than what they got.

21 jump street badass motherfuckers

The dream:

21 jump street dancing

The reality:

21 jump street cop work

The fact that these two are cops and didn’t even read the Miranda Rights. Watching a few movies will make you an expert on the lines!

21 jump street no miranda rights

Schmidt’s epic prayer closer…

21 jump street the end amen

How in touch Dickson was with Korean Jesus’s needs and time schedule.

21 jump stret korean jesus

I don’t even need to say anything, they were pretty dead on.

21 jump street captain sassy

Jenko’s view of an epic prom was pretty funny.

21 jump street doves fly out behind you

And that dream was realised.

21 jump street doves21 jump street badass

The worst way to start the school year was a thing of beauty for me.

21 jump street gay punch21 jump street principal's office

Kids thinking they’re all cool being dealers and stuff… I mean seriously?!

21 jump street narc

Definitely not on drugs… never occurred to me…

21 jump street drug tongues

The absolutely desperation to get the drugs out of their system, and the nasty stuff they were prepared to do to purge themselves of it.

21 jump street retching

I absolutely loved Jenko’s shift in what chemistry and science meant to him and what it turned out to be.

21 jupm street chemistry21 jump street love this science shit

How amazingly in tune you can get with stuff you don’t know when you’re tripping.

21 jump street owning science21 jump street fuck you science

How ridiculously geeky and cute Jenko was by the end of it all after clicking the whole smart thing.

21 jump street potassium nitrate

Dickson’s source.

21 jump street rumors in the twittersphere

Eric was so emotionally weird sometimes.

21 jump street everyone's a stranger

The absolutely epic and ridiculous fight between Schmidt and Jenko.

21 jump street fairy dust

Raiding an evidence locker really must make for a hell of a party!

21 jump street huge party

Schmidt was such a twit, but I won’t deny that him being the latest “badass” and Jenko being the loser that needed protecting was hilarious.

21 jump street party fight hahaha
Schmidt must really find other ways to deal with his issues…

21 jump street maintaining cover
It’s a serious problem, really…

21 jump streets my socks don't match

GRADE 8.5I cannot believe that I had never though to see this until Cara told me that it was certainly worth the watch. I had never seen Channing Tatum in a comedic role (and I do enjoy him as an actor), so watching his clip with Jimmy Fallon a while ago had me giggling quite a bit, so I figured I would check this one out. I was entertained for the entire duration of the movie. It never pretends to be something it isn’t, and even makes fun of it. Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill are also just excellent together, truly working off of each other, complementing the other’s work from the get go. That bromance is just awesome, no two ways about it. There is so much ridiculous crammed into one movie, yet it all managed to work. It made me laugh, which I did not expect, just due to how ludicrous it was, embracing what it was, and putting it out there. It was definitely a breath of fresh air. I am not usually a fan of comedies because I find most of them to be really daft, but this one had fun with all that was going on, and wasn’t necessarily just stupid humour throughout. I loved the whole commentary that was delivered on how much has changed in schools about what and who is cool and what isn’t. The times are truly changing, and Jenko had a lot of difficulty accepting this. Schmidt, on the other hand, realised that he was definitely born too soon. The storyline is predictable, what with them being opposites, then the best of friends, and then being torn apart by popularity, no matter that they are adults. Never mind that, though, it never has a moment where any of this is considered boring, and the implementation is just spot on. Definitely a fan of this!

20 thoughts on “Review: 21 Jump Street (2012)

  1. Tom says:

    Bahah!!! Excellent reaction, and an excellent post! This movie was such a surprise when it came out. I think when I originally posted my review of this I was a bit harsh, I’m wishing I could take back those words. This was purely awesome. Now, you should check out 22 Jump Street! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thy Critic Man says:

    I don’t now how people aren’t in love with this franchise. I know a few people who didn’t like the sequel. I don’t like these people as much anymore. The original is great as well!

    So witty and clever. So fun. WOOOO

    Like

  3. caragale says:

    A few things: 1) LOVE that you got around to watching this. 2) LOVE that I helped inspire you to watch it. 3) LOVE that YOU loved it so much. 4) LOVE all of these gifs. 5) Basically, I LOVE ALL OF THIS!!! Well done, Miss Zoe!!! If you enjoyed this one this much, I am 99.9% positive you’ll be a big fan of 22 Jump Street, too. And after this, I can’t wait for that review. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

