Rapid Review: The Equalizer (2014)

 

the equalizer poster

“Got to be who you are in this world, no matter what.”
– Robert McCall

SYNOPSIS: A man believes he has put his mysterious past behind him and has dedicated himself to beginning a new, quiet life. But when he meets a young girl under the control of ultra-violent Russian gangsters, he can’t stand idly by – he has to help her. – via IMDB

the equalizer gif

GRADE 8I missed this in cinemas (blame the exams, always the exams) and I have been eagerly awaiting the opportunity to see this. Gathering my other half the other night, we finally sat down and got ready to watch the excellent Denzel tear up the town. Let me just tell you, we were not disappointed, not even for one moment. The Equalizer was paced fantastically – I liked that it concentrated on some story, and didn’t just get lost in action, but didn’t focus so much on the story that it was purely a drama. Also, let’s not forget Washington’s portrayal as Robert McCall. I was so impressed with him (I usually am) and I thought that he was super badass. He was very cool, well-respected, I liked the way he was so important to so many people and yet when he went home it was solitary, lonely and depressing. That changes when he becomes a scary machine and starts fixing Boston, intense I tell you! There were some kill styles introduced that I have to admit were fresh and original (I know how that sounds), and an antagonist opposite McCall that was worthy of his time, escalating the events. There was nothing left untouched by McCall to craft his weapons with, and that alone was entertaining enough to carry so much. The soundtrack fit with the movie perfectly, and The Equalizer was shot very nicely, too. There was not one moment of boredom for me, and I was taken in with the entire presentation of the film. Great job all round, and I can definitely highly recommend this one. It has more substance than your average movie of this type, and though it follows a recipe, it doesn’t get boring.

21 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Equalizer (2014)

  1. caragale says:

    Wow! I thought this one was okay…but you REALLY liked it, huh?? Lol. It’s definitely better than average for this type of movie. Honestly, I think that’s pretty much solely thanks to Denzel. Haha. Nice work, lady!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Yeah I really had a blast with this one. I expected to enjoy it just fine, but it was just awesome for me. I do agree – I think that is largely in part of Denzel, but so much else worked for me with this! Thanking you kindly 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

