January Blind Spot Review: The Ides of March (2011)

the ides of march movie poster

“I’ll do or say anything if I believe in it, but I have to believe in the cause.”
– Stephen Meyers

SYNOPSIS: Stephen Meyers is a young idealist who’s brilliant at communications, is second in command of Governor Mike Morris’s presidential campaign, and is a true believer. In the middle of the Ohio primary, the campaign manager of Morris’s opponent asks Meyers to meet; he offers him a job. At the same time, Morris’s negotiations for the endorsement of the man in third place, a North Carolina Senator, hit a snag. A young campaign intern, Molly Stearns, gets Stephen’s romantic attention. Republicans have a trick up their sleeve; Stephen may be too trusting, and Molly has a secret. What’s most important, career, victory, or virtue? – via IMDB

the ides of march

GRADE 8There we go, first movie on my blind spot list checked off. I have been putting this off for years, and not so much intentionally as that I keep forgetting that it needs to be watched, and when I remember, my other half rejects the idea of a political film. So not his thing. So now I had to watch it, and I had to make the time. It was on a list, right? Right. The Ides of March was a smart and engrossing film. That is the first thing that I would like to say. From the opening scene and from thereon out, it demands your attention, and I’ll bet you it will receive it. Ryan Gosling gives another hell of a performance here, though it is something I have come to love about him. He is very talented. It was really great to see how Stephen preps all of Morris’s stuff, and practices and tests it, and how phenomenally different it sounds when you see Clooney step up as Morris and pull it off. Evan Rachel Wood was good again, as was to be expected. I liked the story for this quite a bit, and thought that it was pulled off really well. Philip Seymour Hoffman was at his finest here, and captured the essence of his jaded character perfectly. He exuded the power and control he was supposed to, and owned every second he was on screen. The whole cast was solid, and all contributed really good efforts that are seen throughout the film. I thoroughly enjoyed the pacing, how everything starts gradually and then just snowballs into this huge and out of control situation, with everyone stabbing someone else in the back, and Stephen learning all about how being an idealist is a really difficult thing to be in his line of work. I actually enjoyed the romance between Stephen and Molly, and really wished that the movie had focused on that a little bit more, giving it some more meat. Overall, I think that The Ides of March was a successful political drama all around that I would recommend if this is your scene. It was definitely my cup of tea.

26 thoughts on “January Blind Spot Review: The Ides of March (2011)

  1. theipc says:

    Dearest PJB,

    I’m not big on political movies either – I usually get quite bored and fidgety. You know I’m a big fan of Clooney though – think I would like this?

    Love,

    ISC

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Dear PSC,

      Uhm… I don’t know… there’s a lot of talky talky and underhanded backstabbing, but it is pretty smart. I don’t think you would hate it, but I don’t think you would be head over heels in love with it. Seems that there are some people that are not big into political movies that still liked this. Maybe you should try it one day…

      Love,

      JB

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tom says:

    Tried to leave a comment last night but my internet connection in the library was complete shiite!! 😦

    I am stoked to hear this news about Ides; a movie I’ve been forever meaning to get to but it also for me keeps getting lost in the shuffle. I absolutely dig this cast, too. I had no idea it featured so many big names. Gotta find this one somehow, some way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Awwwwwwwwwww sorry to hear that! 😛 But you are here now!

      I hope you get to it. You might like it! I was impressed, and can see now why it has a group of people that love it. I also understand why there will be some that aren’t as taken, but this film incorporated the features I enjoy about politics and what not.

      Like

  3. Nostra says:

    I also loved this one and revisited a second time a couple of months after I’d seen it. The amount of great performances in this one is crazy, resulting in a very good film which kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. caragale says:

    Well done, Zoe! Not sure if this’d be my thing or not…But you make it sound great!! Lol. If nothing else, I’m sure I’d appreciate Ryan Gosling’s pretty. 🙂 Speaking of Gosling–have you heard the whispers that he might be the Beast to Emma Watson’s Belle?? Still not sure if I totally dig that idea…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Thanking you kindly! I don’t know, if you like political drama stories, then you will most likely enjoy this. I just know it ticks my boxes nad I had a blast. Pffffff, Ryan Gosling wows most ladies 😛 Drive did it for me, finally. Hmmmm, shoot me, but I am no fan of Emma Watson, so I have no real opinion on it. He’ll probably deliver the goods way better than she will.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. table9mutant says:

    Glad you liked this. 🙂 I think this was the first movie I watched after I decided to do that Ryan Gosling project I’ve since abandoned. Solid movie & good performances but not my favorite Gosling. I assume it’s probably better than Only God Forgives from what I hear, though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Oh my goodness, Only God Forgives and The Ides of March aren’t even remotely in the same league. I had fun with this, though still not my favourite Gosling, either. DON’T EVER TOUCH ONLY GOD FORGIVES IF YOU CAN HELP IT.

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

