Rapid Review: The Theory of Everything (2014)

the theory of everything poster

“There should be no boundaries to human endeavor. We are all different. However bad life may seem, there is always something you can do, and succeed at. While there’s life, there is hope.”
– Stephen Hawking

SYNOPSIS: A look at the relationship between the famous physicist Stephen Hawking and his wife. – via IMDB

the theory of everything kiss colourthe theory of everything turn back the clockthe theory of everything married

GRADE 8I have been waiting to see The Theory of Everything for a while, I really have, but we get things late. However, this was something I truly feel was well worth the wait and it was an amazing watch. Eddie Redmayne deserves his Oscar, no doubt. His portrayal of Stephen Hawking was simply astounding, you cannot deny that he went to great lengths to learn all he could about Hawking as well as the disease, and then realise it. There were times where I could easily mistake him for being the real Hawking in his youth. Redmayne had a demanding presence on screen, and he worked wonderfully with Felicity Jones. She truly held her own alongside him, and they had the most arresting chemistry, too. They played off one another perfectly and I was just taken with them every second they were on screen together. Now, this movie does not really deal with the science and the physics of Hawking so much, which I initially thought would hold the story back. However, instead of doing that, it focuses on Stephen Hawking, the man. We all know about the insanely brilliant physicist and his disease, but we don’t really know too much about Hawking, his life, his family, his struggle. The story is astounding, and it is told here with style and feeling. Obviously the physics and science gets touched on – you simply cannot extricate Hawking from his work, but his marriage is the biggest focus of the movie. I know this bothered a lot of people, but it was just fine for me. Redmayne and Jones give it their everything, and it shows. The pacing is fine, and the length didn’t bother me one iota seeing as it managed to fit everything it needed to into the given time. The supporting cast all did a good job with their material. There are so many scenes here that are just shot so well and so arresting, and the way that colour was used and changed throughout the movie also made it beautiful. I had so much fun with the humour in here, it was sharp and witty and fast and sweet, so definitely makes it worth the watch. It was also painfully adorable to watch Jane and Stephen meeting each other, and watching them grow, the changes and challenges they faced, was absolutely stunning. It is a heavy story to tell, and I know people have flaws with the film, and there are a few things that niggle, but overall it is a wonderfully constructed film with an awesome cast and score to carry it. James Marsh really knew how to handle the material, and gave us a visually stunning and heartfelt love story and a bit of biopic in between it, and I, personally, felt that it worked. I was captivated from the off, and never once did my attention wander or dwindle, it was beautiful and inspiring and crushing all at once, even while it gives in to clichés at times, and even though the end was slightly rushed.

31 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Theory of Everything (2014)

  1. theipc says:

    Dearest and Busiest PJB,

    I doubt I’ll ever look at this as long as I live so I’ll live it through you.

    Have a GREAT WEEKEND Most Beloved!!

    Love,

    ISC

    Like

  2. vampireplacebo says:

    Hm, I really wanted to see this, but now that I know it’s more about the marriage than the science, I’m not so sure. Hawking, with Benedict Cumberbatch, focused a lot on the science, and I loved it, BC did an awesome job.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. caragale says:

    Great review, lady! I still haven’t seen this, but I know I need to. As disappointed as I was that Keaton didn’t win the Oscar, from everything I’ve heard…yeah, I guess Remayne, like, totally deserved this or whatever. Lol. I still can’t get over the fact that he’s in his 30s. He looks about 19…

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

