Review: Swerve – Vicki Pettersson

swerve cover

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

SYNOPSIS: It’s high summer in the Mojave Desert, and Kristine Rush and her fiancé, Daniel, are en route from Las Vegas to Lake Arrowhead, California, for the July Fourth holiday weekend. But when Daniel is abducted from a desolate rest stop, Kristine is forced to choose: return home unharmed, but never to see her fiancé again, or plunge forward into the searing desert to find him…where a killer lies in wait. – via Goodreads

I rGRADE 7ead this after Kim over at By Hook Or By Book raved about it in her review. I was so happy when NetGalley approved my request, finished the book I was on and then got right on with this one. Swerve flows, so reading it is quite a quick task. It is a horror thriller type, and I could picture the whole thing like a movie. Why? It had scenes that were as predictable as any old horror movie, but it was good. Pettersson wrote this well, gave us something to chew on, although nothing as dramatic as I am sure some will be hoping for. While the villain was absolutely no shock to me, I was drawn in pretty much from the off of the novel. I have never read any of Pettersson’s previous work, but this book has convinced me to check out some more of her stuff. Swerve started chillingly, that chill subsides later, but that does not mean that this is a dull novel. I didn’t find the serial killer to be as intricate as I was hoping he would be, no real serious creepy issues or anything, and his reasons for doing what he was doing were also really shallow and weak. I did enjoy the way the novel raced through what was happening, drawing  us into Kristine’s panic, which works. The gore was also something fresh for me again, I haven’t read anything really bloody and nasty in a while, and dammit I know it sounds awful to say that it is exactly what I needed, but it was. Been reading a lot of books not quite so in my genre lately, so this was a refreshing change. The last third veered strongly into cliché territory, but for the story that had been set up before that, I don’t think it could really have gone any other way. I wanted more from the thriller aspect of this, but it does not mean that Pettersson failed, I just thought it would be a more in depth study as opposed to a cat and mouse game. The story is nothing we haven’t seen before, isn’t overly complex or perfect by a long shot, but it is entertaining, violent and brutal, demanding your attention from pretty much the off, and it is worth checking out, imperfections and all.

10 thoughts on “Review: Swerve – Vicki Pettersson

Be bold, share your two cents!

