Digital Shortbread Sporadic Scene: American Beauty (1999) – Family Dinner

So Tom of Digital Shortbread recently hit me up with another absolutely awesome scene to share with you guys. Thanks a million, Tom!


For one reason or another, I have put off watching Sam Mendes’ directorial debut ‘American Beauty.’ That is, until now. I have no explanation as to why it’s taken me this long, particularly when we get to scenes as well-acted and memorable as this one. This dinner scene at the Burnham residence is potent with energy, pent-up frustration and comedic relief. Particularly from Kevin Spacey as sexually frustrated suburban father Lester Burnham. But if you think it’s just Spacey who makes the movie memorable, Annette Bening proves a formidable on-screen counter to Spacey in this pivotal moment. Check it out:

9 thoughts on “Digital Shortbread Sporadic Scene: American Beauty (1999) – Family Dinner

    • Tom says:

      It also has one of my favorite lines of all time:

      “Today I quit my job. Then I told my boss to go f**k himself and then blackmailed him for almost $60,000. Pass the asparagus.”

      Liked by 2 people

Be bold, share your two cents!

