Rapid Review: Evil Dead (2013)

evil dead 2013 poster

“This thing is attached to Mia’s soul like a leech. If I’m reading this right, it’s become her. If we want to help Mia… we’re gonna have to kill her.”
– Eric

SYNOPSIS: Five friends head to a remote cabin, where the discovery of a Book of the Dead leads them to unwittingly summon up demons living in the nearby woods. The evil presence possesses them until only one is left to fight for survival. – via IMDB

evil dead

GRADE 7.5This remake was definitely worth the watch, I don’t get why there is so much hate aimed at it. Everything was simply stunning to look at and it was shot very well. There was not really any humour, so the whole comedy horror aspect was dropped, and shifted cleanly into a more demanding and serious role. A group of friends going up to this cabin in the woods to rehabilitate a friend was a decent spin on the plot. There were plenty homages to the original, and is something which was really great because Alvarez refused to let that own the film. The film was intent on having its own thing, and I thought it succeeded. While not “the most terrifying film you will ever experience”, it had its moments of glory, and some frights and thrills. I liked the cabin being the same and Ash’s car chilling out in the front of it. I am a big fan of the effects of this movie, they were amazing and contributed to a lot of what made this work so well. The cast was surprisingly good, and I must give them credit. Lou Taylor Pucci was good, Shiloh Fernandez aced the sad brother and was some yummy eye candy to check out at the very least and Jane Levy was just great as a crazy, withdrawing, possessed lunatic. However, I found Elizabeth Blackmore’s Natalie to be an extremely flat and bland character – completely useless, almost as though she was just there to fill out the required quota of five people heading out to the cabin. This is a pretty good remake – it did not want to be the original, but wanted the story, and I feel that it was executed rather well.

This trailer is actually extremely good!

15 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Evil Dead (2013)

  1. Tom says:

    GOd, so this is the movie where that insanely creepy girl under the trap door comes from. She is just. . . . ugh. *Shudder.* Legit freaky, like the Annabelle doll before they went and made her un-scary in her own film. lol!

    I don’t remember if this film was bashed or not when it came out but I just realized that yeah it is a remake, so it probably was. People are usually crazy when horrors get remade. It seems worse with this genre than in any other. Good review !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      xD Well, apparently it did have creepy as hell aspects then! Thanks Tom!

      It did get quite a bit of completely unnecessary flak, I think it came together exceptionally well, all things considered.

      It is worse in this genre than any other because… HAVE YOU SEEN A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET (2010)?! Freaking RIDICULOUS!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Natasha says:

    Bestie – do you REMEMBER what I went through with Woman In Black? I know, I know. I am such a little scaredy cat. This looks scarier than that. I contemplated doing a bit of Halloween movie run, but I don’t think that is going to happen #degree

    PS: that scary girl is me when I wake up in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      LOLOLOLOL I do, it was BEYOND classic xD

      #Degree

      Those things get in the way, they really do! I have been saving horrors for October lol.

      LOL! Mystery solved!

      Like

  3. Lisi Ledbetter says:

    absolutely agree with you, it wanted the story – not to be a copy! couldn’t have put it better! I enjoyed both movies, actually organized a public viewing of the 2nd part of the original movie in a forest. we added some light effects and fog, was pretty cool!
    on a side-note, always been a happy reader, but usually silent. keep up the good work 🙂
    have a lovely day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      I think you might enjoy this one, it doesn’t try to be the original, which is awesome. I think it’s a really good film in its own right. Well worth a watch. Would love to hear your opinion on it!

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

