Rapid Review: The Quiet Ones (2014)

the quiet ones poster

“What if you could prove that the supernatural was merely a manifestation of what already exists in the mind, the subconscious?”
– Professor Joseph Coupland

SYNOPSIS: A university professor and a team of students conduct an experiment on a young woman, uncovering terrifyingly dark, unexpected forces in the process. – via IMDB

the quiet ones

GRADE 4I know that this wasn’t necessarily a favourite for most people, but I still wanted to check it out for Sam Claflin, I actually like him. He’s a pretty good actor, and holds his own in a film. This was no exception – he did the best he could with the material, but unfortunately it was bland. I mean very bland, and this could have been something. I understand what the filmmakers were trying to do, they just didn’t get it down. The film itself also had no real idea as to what it wanted to do with itself, and that is painfully evident for the duration of the film. The “relationship” or attraction between Brian and Jane popped up far too quickly for my liking, and the movie wove in and out of semi-interesting and mediocre, but the majority of the time in languished in the boring field. The acting was alright, but nothing groundbreaking. I suppose that is par for the course in this genre, though it was better than most. I am looking forward to seeing more of Claflin in future, and it was nice to see Olivia Cooke here, too. It took me a while to recognise her, I have gotten so used  to her in Bates Motel. Ultimately it was nothing like what I was hoping for, thoroughly forgettable, and this was a movie I was quite looking forward to. So disappointing, and I don’t really have much  more to say about it.

18 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Quiet Ones (2014)

  1. Tom says:

    I hate it when you get disappointed by a movie, even when you have the understanding the thing isn’t the greatest. 😦 A 4/10. Woof. Pretty low. Thanks for saving me the bore! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. table9mutant says:

    Ugh. Totally with you on this movie. Snoozefest! I was so bored. But, hey – is that Finnick?! Lol! I watched & reviewed this thing but didn’t even make the connection until seeing this & having our Mockingjay talk today. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

