Rapid Review: Predestination (2014)

predestination poster

“We all trip up along the way. But you and I, perhaps over the same things.”
– The Unmarried Mother

SYNOPSIS: The life of a time-traveling Temporal Agent. On his final assignment, he must pursue the one criminal that has eluded him throughout time. – via IMDB

predestination bar

GRADE 8.5I have been meaning to get around to it pretty much since it came out. However, I never did, and it never really climbed up in my watch list. I decided to check it out the other day, and I am so glad I saved it for a rainy day. I was in the mood for a good film, and this one ticked more boxes than I thought. Man, what a twisty flick! Also, I don’t get why people give Ethan Hawke so much flak. Granted, he is no DiCaprio or Matt Damon or anything like that, but I have always found him to be consistently entertaining and good at what he does. Anyway, let’s move from this point on to the movie itself. I liked Hawke here, his barkeep character was good, and the setup for the movie is something that engages you from the off. Then there is Sarah Snook, and dear goodness, she steals the damn show. She was brilliant. I don’t really want to say too much, but wow, she was phenomenal here, and did a fantastic job. I will certainly be keeping my eyes open for her in future. I really liked how the movie took time to get set up, introduce us to the characters, and then went on this insane whirlwind journey and dragged you along, whether you could keep up or not. I am sure if you really, really want, you can pick this movie apart. Me? I know nothing about this field of science and theory or anything like that, so for me it was exceptionally entertaining and mind bending. There was also a lot of heart to be found here, and it truly contributed to the overall product. I thought Predestination was smart, featured some stellar performances, was engaging and shot really well. I did not have a single moment where I got bored, and I think I want to look into reading this book, it was one hell of a story. I understand from reviewers that have read the book and watched this that this is an exceptionally loyal adaptation, which is awesome. I don’t want to say too much, because this is one of those movies you want to go into about as blind as possible. One of the better films I have seen in a while, and definitely worth checking out.

16 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Predestination (2014)

  1. kurdtt says:

    i don’t quite know why this reminded me so much of “Minority Report” – but it did. I like Ethan Hawke too, he’s never great, but he’s never bad in anything he’s done either. I liked him in “Taking Lives” …

    Touche –

    Also, I don’t get why people give Ethan Hawke so much flak. Granted, he is no DiCaprio or Matt Damon or anything like that, but I have always found him to be consistently entertaining and good at what he does.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tom says:

    Couldn’t agree more on this one. What a fantastic surprise. I had someone contribute a piece about this one back when i was doing those Bite Sized Reviews (I think it was Jordan who introduced me to it) and I took a loooooong long time in getting to it, but it was all worth the wait. Great review

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks a mil, Tom! Right?! It was like “yeah, sure, someday I will see it” and then you do and you can’t believe you waited so long! Definitely something I will revisit in future!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Cindy Bruchman says:

    A lot of people have mentioned this and liked it. I enjoyed your review and have put it on my rent list. I’m right with you regarding Ethan Hawke. I’ve liked most all his performances. Nice review, Zoe!

    Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

