Rapid Review: Steve Jobs (2015)

steve jobs poster

“What do you do? You’re not an engineer. You’re not a designer. You can’t put a hammer to a nail. I built the circuit board! The graphical interface was stolen! So how come ten times in a day I read Steve Jobs is a genius? What do you do?”
– Steve Wozniak

SYNOPSIS: Steve Jobs takes us behind the scenes of the digital revolution, to paint a portrait of the man at its epicenter. The story unfolds backstage at three iconic product launches, ending in 1998 with the unveiling of the iMac. – via IMDB

steve jobs1

GRADE 8This is a film that seemed to fly quite under the radar, and I am not sure why. It has meant that this movie has been grossly overlooked, which is saying something. The cast, the director, the screenwriter? This movie had it all, and yet still not nearly as huge as you would expect it to be. The movie is tightly written, even though there are flaws (seriously, all the big reveals and life learning happens to Jobs before a new product launch without fail is just too much to bear). I really enjoyed the cast here, and felt they all did a solid job. Fassbender was phenomenal, though this is to be expected, and Kate Winslet, as always, held her own every step of the way. Seth Rogen also took on a more serious role here as Wozniak and I really liked him and his portrayal. I didn’t even roll my eyes, and think he was very well suited for the part. Jeff Daniels was really good as John Sculley. Michael Stuhlbarg was also impressive as Andy Hertzfeld. Steve Jobs is very dialogue-centric, which is not something I had a problem with. In fact, I always appreciate that in a film if it can carry itself based purely on conversation and not spend precious story time showing us things. I love something that makes you listen and think. Unlike my husband, I am not too well versed with the IT industry and the people in it, and did not know much about Jobs going into this. I was horrified to learn he was such an asshole. Like, really. I knew that he was a thief of note, stealing ideas from everyone, etc. and he didn’t really understand the technical aspect of computers. I know a load of people in IT and none of them really appreciate Jobs, but are more keen on the people that actually made the things happen (again, I can’t go too much into this, it is just what I hear them discuss, though they will acknowledge other things about Jobs). Again, I am not too familiar with it all, so I can assume that a lot of creative liberties must have been taken in the film, but all I learnt from it was that Jobs was a twat and that he treated people awfully. For real. I thought the casting of Fassbender was a stroke of genius. He was fantastic here, and worth every moment of your time. Maybe not a movie I will be rushing out to see over and over again, but I am glad that I saw it and it is well worth a watch, without a doubt.

9 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Steve Jobs (2015)

  1. table9mutant says:

    Nice review! : ) Think we feel similar about this. I really knew nothing about Jobs beforehand either. Wow – they sure don’t try to make you like him… Everyone did a fantastic job in this, though. I saw some video of the woman Winslet portrayed and she did her accent PERFECTLY.

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold. Chat with us!

