Rapid Review: Gone (2012)

gone poster

“Adults have the right to disappear.”
Lt. Ray Bozeman

SYNOPSIS: When her sister disappears, Jill is convinced the serial killer who kidnapped her two years ago has returned, and she sets out to once again face her abductor. – via IMDB

gone i'll sleep when he's dead

GRADE 4I didn’t necessarily think that this was awful, per se, but it was a long way off from great. This successfully passes Anna’s vacuum test, in that I was doing my own thing, not particularly invested in the movie yet managed to follow it without putting too much thought or energy in it. I looked into this mainly for Amanda Seyfried, as well as some Sebastian Stan perve time (mmmmhmmmm, I am that petty). I didn’t want an intense movie, or something that was too serious or that would make me think too much, and this seemed to fit that bill. This movie is just fine for whiling away some time, but don’t take it too seriously, it won’t be fine then. There are holes and there are flaws, and the storytelling is all over the show, and that did detract from this being better than it was. It had the potential to be more… okay, maybe not too much more, but more than it ultimately was. Some things irritated me when I thought I was going to take this a little more seriously, and I had to remind myself to leave my brain at the door. Seyfried does the best she can with what she has been given, and Sebastian Stan was (super unfortunately) not around as much as I was hoping he would be, so I didn’t even get any major perve time. This movie is quite forgettable at the end of the day, so if you really have nothing else to watch this should be alright, or if you want some background noise. I didn’t completely hate this, but I will not be wasting my time on it again – I am pretty indifferent towards the film. If you want a thriller to dig your teeth into, it is totally not going to be this.

18 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Gone (2012)

    • Zoë says:

      The victimization angle was good, but I felt that they squandered what they could have done with it. Glad to hear you enjoyed this so much Jordan!

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

