May Blind Spot Review: The Breakfast Club (1985)

the-breakfast-club-poster

“We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it, that’s all.”
– Andrew

SYNOPSIS: Five high school students, all different stereotypes, meet in detention, where they pour their hearts out to each other, and discover how they have a lot more in common than they though – via IMDB

breakfast clubbreakfast club dancing colour

GRADE 8So, I am not as well versed in John Hughes’s work as most, I will freely admit it. I didn’t like National Lampoon’s Vacation and I (the heathen) really didn’t care for Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I put this movie on my Blind Spot list because I haven’t seen it, and like the aforementioned, it is really popular, and I am trying to catch up with these and see if there is something I missed. I didn’t actually think I would like this. Really, I didn’t, but I did. From the first few minutes, I was entertained. There was such a mix and match of characters, just waiting to see how they would interact was enough for me. Bender was a character that I specifically enjoyed, with a disgusting, prickly exterior to push people away and shield himself, he is also hidden under tons of cockiness and sarcasm, and I enjoyed him. The other characters take some more time to get into, to peel away the layers of their stereotypes and get to the gooey bits underneath. I liked this because it wasn’t the perfect bunch of teens thrown together, with a whole bunch of scenes to make money, pass time, make us laugh, but never to make us think. Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty humour to be found in The Breakfast Club, but there is also a lot of serious things to get you wondering, to hit you in the feels, and there are other things right up there to irritate you and annoy you. Another thing that was great was watching how the relationships/friendships formed between the kids – Bender spent the first half of the movie wrecking social conventions and then they got into it, into the whole concept. The whole movie essentially takes place in a library, over the longest detention I have ever seen, but the cast makes this come alive, and they run with it. The Breakfast Club is actually quite a smart movie, and I liked it far more than I was expecting to. In fact, I feel that this may very well be a film that I will revisit in future. I know that it is immensely successful with a lot of people, and it especially resonates with people from that era, and I think it’s a pretty damn good outing. I might not be a raving fan, but this one was worth it. So glad I actually got off my butt and watched this.

21 thoughts on “May Blind Spot Review: The Breakfast Club (1985)

  1. theipc says:

    Fairest SJB,

    Out of all the movies you mentioned, It probably liked Vacation the best. It really can’t stand FBDO….. It thinks this movie is well made but It didn’t like it very much…. It hated all of the people in this thing.

    BLECK

    Love,

    SPSC

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chris Evans says:

    Love the John Hughes stuff, Breakfast Club is great but my fave is probably Ferris Bueller (sorry)! Planes, Trains and Automobiles is another good one and he did of course write that little old classic Home Alone! Great review Zoe, I’m going to have to pick up the blu-ray for this as it’s been a while since I last saw it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tom says:

    An 8/10 is all one can really ask for! I really do love TBC but it hasn’t always struck everyone the same way and I can see why. I always have this nostalgic feeling every time I watch it and it was set actually a bit before I was born, or maybe right around it. It is just a really cool little gem. I’m glad you’ve managed to check it off the list

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      I have no problem with a movie set in one space, as long as it is good, all is well. However, you are right, most people are not keen on that :/

      Like

  4. table9mutant says:

    Here I am. Finally! Sorry I fell so behind – I’ve been meaning to comment on this for ages! I’m sooooo glad you enjoyed this. And shocked! I genuinely thought you’d hate it. ; ) I know that it isn’t always successful with those who didn’t grow up in that era. For me, it was just SO exactly like my high school (Hughes lived in the same sort of region as I did as well). I knew people just like these characters & could relate to them. I was a mix of the brain & basket case with the tiniest bit of the princess thrown in. And I dated the criminal. And we had loads of athletes – I hated them but Estevez managed to make his character likeable. It’s also a very “American” movie so I’m surprised when I find those in England who love it too (my hubby loves Hughes). I do prefer this one to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. ; ) I like how it’s not just a “dumb teen movie”, although Hughes did that well too with Weird Science. I can even forgive the cheesy scenes in this one. As a teen, I totally loved the “makeover” scene. Lol. That should annoy me now as an adult. I bet my kid will hate it when she’s a teenager, though. Will probably be too dated by then. : (

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Oh, I have been waiting for you on this one lol! Yeah, I really loved this one and I will definitely be checking it out again. I really didn’t think I would enjoy this, but it is put together really well, and everyone works together so nicely. It also balances out the humour and the serious scenes really well. Ugh, you know how I felt about Ferris – and I think I was being overly generous on your blog about my feelings about it hahahaha. The makeover scene peeved me though, I won’t lie. Maybe she will like it? I mean, I thought it had aged pretty well, and there was still plenty to enjoy about it, and I didn’t even go to school in that era. Cross everything – she might! I hope so, at least.

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

