June Blind Spot Review: Billy Elliot (2000)

billy elliot poster

“I want to be a ballet dancer.”
– Billy Elliot

SYNOPSIS: A talented young boy becomes torn between his unexpected love of dance and the disintegration of his family. – via IMDB

billy and teacherbilly elliot dancing

GRADE 8So this movie was huge when I was a kid. It was in every magazine and newspaper, and yet I never, ever got around to seeing it. I have no excuse. I don’t know why I didn’t, it was just one of those things. I am so happy I finally did! I found myself grinning like a fool for chunks of this movie, and yet it managed to take things back to a super serious thing effortlessly, and successfully. The era in which this movie is set suits it perfectly, too, so all the themes and messages explored within it just resonated more. I thought that the Elliot family was so sad and dysfunctional, trying to hang in there, yet fighting the big fight. Billy’s love for dancing is amazing to watch, and to see his journey, his dedication to continue with an art like ballet was fantastic. Billy Elliot is a heartwarming story and it is sweet to boot, and yes, it will also break your heart at the best of times. Jaime Bell is incredibly talented, even as a young boy this is evident. I was particularly taken with the family, and how they eventually all got behind Billy, how he became the family’s beacon of hope (when that letter arrived and that whole family was on edge and waiting). It was so sweet. I thought the soundtrack for the movie was also great, every song fit the scene, and they were all fun and fitting, which can sometimes be an issue. If you haven’t seen Billy Elliot, get to it. Now. Soon. It’s wonderful!

14 thoughts on “June Blind Spot Review: Billy Elliot (2000)

  1. Tom says:

    Great recommendation and reminder that I STILL haven’t seen this either (despite hearing so much about it). I really love the concept of the story and it does sound really fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ruth says:

    Wow, what a coincidence! I just posted a music break from a British indie done by Billy Elliot’s producers. I’m besotted [again] 😉

    I love this one, but then again I always have a penchant for British indies, esp about the underdogs. Jaime Bell is indeed very talented, glad to see his career has gone well across the Atlantic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. table9mutant says:

    Huh. I’ve never seen this either! Maybe I’ll have to put it on next year’s Blind Spot list. I was never interested as it looked too “English”. Like Love Actually or some shit like that. (I figure I’ve lived in England long enough to make fun of English movies. Lol). So, I’m guessing it’s dreary yet uplifting? ; )

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

