Review: The Murder Game – Catherine McKenzie as Julie Apple

the-murder-game-cover

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

SYNOPSIS: Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defense, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?  – via Goodreads

GRADE 5This sounded like something I would enjoy, but I was wrong about that. Not that it sucked, but it was not what I was hoping it would be. For one, I could not stand the lead character. In fact, there were no likable characters at all, which made this a chore to read. What I did enjoy was the legal proceedings, and the depth with which it was handled, because it was interesting, engaging, and solid. Initially the flipping between present and past annoyed me, but eventually it was just how the book was, and stopped bothering me altogether. I really wanted to like this more than I did, because it had a lot of potential, but it did not break any boundaries or suck me in completely. I was underwhelmed, and it grated on me because this could have been so much more, and much less predictable, but instead does not break the mould in the slightest. Not caring about the characters or the outcome did not help at all. The story/plot itself, while it was interesting, stretched the bounds of realism too tightly – there is no ways that this case would have been prosecuted the way that it was, way too much conflict everywhere. But okay.  The pacing was good, and the book was a quick read, but not something I will be revisiting. I see that a lot of people love it, but I was unfortunately one that thought it was okay, but no more.

Be bold, share your two cents!

