Rapid Review: The Purge: Election Year (2016)

the-purge-election-year-poster

” We will now purge. We will torture you and violate your flesh. Remove your skin and share in your blood. This is the American way.”
– Uncle Sam

SYNOPSIS: Years after sparing the man who killed his son, former police sergeant Barnes has become head of security for Senator Charlie Roan, a Presidential candidate targeted for death on Purge night due to her vow to eliminate the Purge. – via IMDB

the-purge-election-year

GRADE 5Man, oh man, was this ever a disappointment to me. I didn’t expect to love this as much as I did Anarchy, because that delivered on everything I ever wanted from a Purge movie, but I really thought that it would be more than this. Sure, I was expecting politics, the title told you as much, but I did  not expect the movie to be so tedious, for the master and star of Anarchy, Frank Grillo, to be reduced to a caricature of his former character, as well as have such a large group of unlikable characters. Really. For instance, every time I wanted to warm to Joe Dixon, there were just racial slurs again (and seriously folks, as a South African and race being the central point of everything, it’s just the last thing you want to hear in a movie). I quite liked Marcos, and could not stand that stupid Kimmy/Freakbride/whatever that spoiled brat was called that had beef with Joe. Anyway, the political overtures were over the top, the Purge itself didn’t have the same charm or draw as the last two films, the plot was just all over the show, there were some super dodgy “South Africans” in the beginning (bull), and the movie felt like it dragged because the pacing was faulty. Nope, I expected more and Election Year simply did not deliver. I don’t have much to say about this, except that it was quite a let down, and not the greatest note to end these films on.

12 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Purge: Election Year (2016)

  1. Tom says:

    Ugh I had the same exact problems with that Little Miss Entitlement b*tch who walks into the store and starts looting, then starts acting like a . . . well. That just grated on me so damn bad it put me in enough of a bad mood where I couldn’t really enjoy what happened later. Some of this was actually interesting, but yeah in the end it just couldn’t help but descend into silliness. Let us hope that this series is over now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Yeah fucking heck, that child just… no. Pffffffff. Not that there was much to enjoy about this movie, if we are being honest. What a wreck. I do hope they are done now. I cannot see how they would keep going, what with this woman having abolished the annual Purge.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tom says:

        You and The Chop know FULL well how series are shamelessly extended. Didn’t you guys last talk about the Saw franchise? 😉

        Although I will say, yes here there would be a whole lot less to go off. I can see it happening though. People are just too greedy

        Liked by 1 person

  2. table9mutant says:

    Damn! Sorry this one was such a disappointment for you. I actually liked it quite a bit (about the same as the second for me). But I’m still of the unpopular opinion that the first one is best. Overall, the series NEVER delivered on its promise with that fantastic concept. Which is a shame. But the whole series was still a guilty pleasure for me anyway, despite the lack of substance I wanted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Yeah the series had more potential than was delivered. I was a big fan of Anarchy, but I didn’t like the first or this, to be honest. Meh. I was hoping it’d be better. Glad you enjoy them though!

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

