Rapid Review: The Witch (2015)

the witch poster

“I am that very witch. When I sleep my spirit slips away from my body and dances naked with The Devil. That’s how I signed his book.”
– Thomasin

SYNOPSIS: A family in 1630s New England is torn apart by the forces of witchcraft, black magic and possession. – via IMDB

the witch gif

GRADE 5After all the reviews about this, I was so excited to get to it. Pity, because I ended up not loving it, just like It Follows, which everyone else seemed to love, too. My husband and I watched this, and liked the creepy atmosphere, the  music, how the movie mostly got you wondering about things, the old English, all of that. Even the aspect of a witch, and this family suffering at the hands of it, great. But then it’s just this family’s descent into madness and witchcraft (which would have been okay – but it was so boring), no explanations, a lot of wasted potential, nothing really linking everything, nothing too clear, and I am not an idiot, I just expected more. I was all for a witch of the icky variety again, but this was just not what I was looking for. I expected something darker and way more hardcore, and all I got was a movie that had a distinctly empty feeling surrounding it. Meh. People spoke of fear, of terror, while watching this. Where? I love atmosphere in a horror, that is what makes it scary. This had it in spades, but lost the plot pretty quickly. I loved the way the film looked, and I loved the dialogue, I was a fan, and I was a fan of the hysteria that seized the family, and how it was witchcraft, considering there was a real, live witch out in the forest, but that aspect was never actually explored, and the witchcraft within the family left a lot to be desired, too.The movie was more disturbing than scary, but didn’t stay with me long after. I don’t know, this just wasn’t my cup of tea at the end of the day.

15 thoughts on “Rapid Review: The Witch (2015)

  1. Katy says:

    Nice review! I agree – thought the atmosphere was super creepy but felt that the story didn’t have much to offer outside of suspecting what/who the real source of the witchcraft was. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Thank you so much! Ah, it’s so great to hear from someone else who didn’t think this was the greatest modern horror! It just felt really hollow when all was said and done.

      Like

  2. Josh Hammond says:

    I get that this film wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea (and I at least knew it wasn’t hardcore horror from the reviews I’d read), but I really liked it. I feel so many horror films try to pull a fast one with a twist or a third act reveal, and – in addition to the atmosphere you liked – I really enjoyed how straightforward it was: the family is afraid of a witch in the woods and thinks a goat is possessed by the devil . . . and both things are true. To me, this was the equivalent of Polanski revealing the truth about Rosemary’s Baby rather than waiting until the end. Not enough literal horror films out there.

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

