Review: The Duff (2015)

the-duff-movie-poster

“It’s not like a big deal, every group has one, you know the one who doesn’t look as good , thus making their friends look better. The one whose easy to talk to because no one’s trying to get with them.”
– Wesley Rush

SYNOPSIS: A high school senior instigates a social pecking order revolution after finding out that she has been labeled the DUFF – Designated Ugly Fat Friend – by her prettier, more popular counterparts. – via IMDB

the-duff-drink-toss

GRADE 8All I know about this film is that is was based on a book, and that it didn’t do so well, and got a bit of flak. Having seen it, I don’t get why it wasn’t too popular. I thought it was pretty funny, a little silly and cheesy, but overall not bad. Just remember to check your brain at the door, it might frustrate you if you try to get too complicated. And I haven’t read the book, so for once I am not too concerned about the parallels. In fact, even after seeing this, I don’t think I will be heading out anytime soon to read the book. I enjoyed just watching it, scoffing, and enjoying how light it was.

Anyway, it isn’t earth shattering or super different, but it is done really well, and carried by a pretty good cast and feels fresh. I absolutely loved watching Robbie Amell and Mae Whitman together. They were just too darn cute, and came across as pretty comfortable with each other. Really great chemistry. Also, I truly appreciated Bianca’s character. She was just so damn cool. I was pleased with the message behind this movie – it wasn’t this whole “change yourself to get the guy” thing, and it also wasn’t all about some dude and how a girl just couldn’t live without him. Man, so over that.

Bianca and her situations can also be so damn relatable, which is really funny and really awkward, all at once. I like that. You can totally get how and why some of these situations would arise, or how one would feel about them. That’s something not all movies get right. I had a particularly good laugh when she achieved something and this went down (we have all had a moment when we felt this):

the-duff-fireworks

I also like that the movie is actually a lot smarter than you would think it would be. I appreciate the fact that it successfully balanced humour and heart, as most other movies go one way or the other. It’s also sassy at times. The movie is predictable, but it is fun. I actually enjoyed this a hell of a lot more than I thought I would. It’s a good coming of age movie that is funny, identifiable, sweet without being sickening, and something that I would actually recommend.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Duff (2015)

  1. Natasha says:

    Vestie! I’m so happy you liked this so much! It is one of my favorite films right now. Bianca and her expressions give me so much life. I loved the relationship between our two heroes and the message of the film and that it is really such a funny watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      You really, really should check it out. Well worth a watch. Hmmm, seems to have gotten better reviews after release. I remember when it came out I read a lot of reviews where people claimed it was “meh”, hence I was put off it. I found that to not be the case, I enjoyed it. Hope you catch it soon and that it tickles your fancy!

      Like

Be bold. Chat with us!

