Review: The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins

the-girl-on-the-train-cover

SYNOPSIS: EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? – via Goodreads

Uhm. Yeah. This. Why? Why was this so hyped? I disliked it within the first few pages (and not just because I am still bitterly missing 11/22/63 or anything like that). I kept reading. The jumping around of time grated on my last nerve. Seriously. It didn’t even jump around and make sense. It only made sense by the end. That doesn’t help man! I was left frustrated the whole way through. Forget the time skipping for a moment, and just look at the characters. They were hateful!

Hateful characters don’t help. There is nobody to root for. There is nobody you support, that you want to see win, come out tops, nothing. Rachel, our main main lead, grated on my last nerve. Alcoholic, broken, whiny, sorry case, pathetic. Which was fine, but she was also completely unstable. I mean completely. The things she did, the way she thought? Rachel was the pits. Like, I felt sorry for her on one hand, but on the other, come on. Then there is Anna, another unlikable character. A cheat with no integrity and the gall to be the bitch that she was. Then there was Megan, too. I just… the whole book is about these upset, depressed people playing games, and that would have been okay, except the book dawdled around and around in circles and really didn’t feel like it went anywhere. It could easily have been shorter.

The book also requests you suspend belief way too much (I mean just look at the crap that Rachel gets up to). The police investigation is another thing that just annoyed me. Ugh. None of the characters worked for me. I also had major issues with the fact that if you don’t read who is guiding the chapter at the beginning and stick to it, you cannot pick up a voice and be like “oh, this is Rachel/Anna/Megan”, which is criminal, in my minds.

The pacing didn’t work for me. This book was excessively long-winded for the story it told. It dawdled. It didn’t build tension. It didn’t reel me in. I just don’t get why people loved the heck out of this? It just wasn’t my cup of tea at all. I can’t recommend it, but my opinion is in the extreme minority on this one.

10 thoughts on “Review: The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins

  1. Often Off Topic says:

    I did enjoy the book, but it was far from perfect! I also don’t read a lot so don’t have much to compare it to, but I had major issues working out where in the timeline I currently was and who’s perspective I was reading from. I wish this didn’t get compared to Gone Girl, because they’re very different stories!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. I struggled with it a lot. I really didn’t like it, and totally don’t get the hype. I don’t know if I will be checking out the movie…

      Definitely two totally different stories. The comparison between them is ridiculous.

      Like

    • Zoë says:

      Glad you enjoyed this one! My opinion is definitely in the minority with this one, but I did not like this at all. There was just so much wrong with it and it grated on my last nerve.

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

