Review: The Edge of Seventeen (2016)

“I don’t wanna take up a ton of your time, but I’m gonna kill myself. I just thought an adult should know.”
– Nadine 

SYNOPSIS: High-school life gets even more unbearable for Nadine when her best friend, Krista, starts dating her older brother. – via IMDB

Alright, so I know this rated really highly with people, so I was interested to see how this coming of age film sets itself apart from others in the genre, and there are a few ways, some good, and some bad. It was definitely different in the sense that you don’t actually really like our protagonist, though she does grow as the movie progresses (as to be expected), and ultimately you can see the changes.

Nadine is a more unlikable character than you are used to for this type of movie. Sure, they are supposed to have unlikable aspects, things that change as the movie progresses, but Nadine has virtually no redeeming points, and is selfish on a totally believable teenage level, this is to say that the whole world had to revolve around her. She also encounters situations where being abrasive doesn’t always helps, and other times it did. All that being said, I did like the way the movie did a really good job capturing the insecurities of a teenage girl, as well as the constant stress and complete teenage selfishness.

Even with that being done exceptionally well, I didn’t love this. It isn’t a bad movie, it just didn’t make me feel much of anything. I enjoyed watching Woody Harrelson, because he’s awesome and so was his character, but aside from that? Oh yes, there is Erwin, and I thought he was adorable. Besides them? There were no characters I really enjoyed, or situations, or interactions (except between Nadine and poor Mr Bruner). The movie just came across as really flat and shallow, which is unfortunate. It also wasn’t funny, which at times it felt like it was desperately trying to be. I didn’t find this as deep and poignant as others did. It isn’t a bad watch, it just didn’t do for me what I was hoping it would.

The Edge of Seventeen does a great job of capturing the totally self-centred nature of being a teen, as well as all the awkwardness of it. The movie features sold performances and is shot well, but it doesn’t have the heart or humour it thinks it has.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Edge of Seventeen (2016)

  1. Kim @ Tranquil Dreams says:

    Nice review! I’ve been hesitating to watch this one despite all the good reviews. I think its the idea that I’m one of the few people who really didn’t like the YA novel Thirteen Reasons Why (which I hate is being adapted into a Netflix Original Series). Ughh.. Plus, I’m still trying to figure out whether I like Hailee Steinfeld’s acting…haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Zoë says:

      Thanks Kim! I don’t actually think you’ll be missing much if you give this one a skip, to be honest. I haven’t read Thirteen Reasons Why, but I am pretty wary of it now! She was convincing here, but it is the first thing I have seen her in, and didn’t really make me want to rush out and see any of her other work.

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

