The Magic of a Book

For me, there is nothing more enchanting than a book. The great escape, the new identity, the time travel, the unexpected voyage… it all eagerly awaits you. You just need to summon the courage to turn the folio, and a whole new world is at the mercy of your fingertips.

I honestly cannot understand how there are so many people that do not read. It is one of the greatest joys to pick up a book and be taken away to another world! That, for me, is one of the greatest lures to a novel. Not that I want to be escaping my own world or anything like that, but to be a part of another person’s universe is simply too irresistible to pass up.

There is beauty in not knowing where exactly your adventure will take you, and how events will progress, or what the perimeters will be, but to discover it in the process is amazing. You disappear into another time, another place, another life altogether.

I am sure we have all been told we are escaping reality by reading? So what if we are? Is there a crime to want to be a part of something totally different and unique? I don’t think that there is. I have also heard the most absurd insinuation that one does not learn from a book. I beg to differ with this point on so many fronts. Books are wonderful centres for learning! By this, I do not just mean educational texts, but novels as well. We pick up on a great deal from novels. For instance, you discover a variety of  personality types, means of dealing with certain situations, how some people work and operate, and numerous other examples could be listed here. Reading excercises your memory  how your brain organizes your thoughts and how information is recalled. It vastly expands your vocabulary, and that can never hurt.

Books offer freedom, alternate realities, and unmistakably broaden the horizon of the imagination. How are there people that can’t have a book take them away?! I love reading! Pages breathe life into fictional characters and revitalize sections of history and the present. The art should be respected, as such.

I think one of the most difficult things to do is finish a series of books and try to go straight into a new one, or just a straightforward stand alone. It is not just that simple. Also, when you have finished a great book, if it does not have a sequel, it is no effortless feat to just pick up another book and move on. Each and every story that you read becomes a part of you!

How do you feel about reading, and the books in your life?

5 thoughts on “The Magic of a Book

  1. I love this. Yes, books offer me an alternate reality where I could just dive into and escape reality. Sometimes, after finishing a book, I feel as if I have left a part of myself in the alternate reality. haha am I weird? 😀

    Like

    1. Not at all. I frequently conclude my adventures and feel as though something is missing… maybe we do give up a part of ourselves for each time we submerge ourselves in an alternate reality! 🙂

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.