Review: Gone, Baby, Gone – Dennis Lehane

gone baby gone cover

Kenzie & Gennaro #4

SYNOPSIS: The tough neighborhood of Dorchester is no place for the innocent or the weak. A territory defined by hard heads and even harder luck, its streets are littered with the detritus of broken families, hearts, dreams. Now, one of its youngest is missing. Private investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro don’t want the case. But after pleas from the child’s aunt, they open an investigation that will ultimately risk everything—their relationship, their sanity, and even their lives—to find a little girl-lost. – via Goodreads

GRADE 8.5Yes, this was a damn fine read. I can totally see how, of all the books in this series (that I have read so far), this one would get the film deal. It was an intense story to boot, with plenty of characters and a very engaging plot. Things just don’t make sense for quite a while, but you are along with Lehane for the ride. Let me tell you, he doesn’t disappoint, either. I am really happy that Angie and Patrick have finally found each other, and that things are going well since they got together in Sacred. However, when the pair finally dip their toes back into the dark side of private investigation work again for the first time since Desiree Stone, the knowledge that things are going to get rough for them is pretty much self-evident. Hunting lost children is a terribly sad thing, and missing and hurt children are always rough to deal with. Lehane tackles the source material in a gritty and no-nonsense manner, and really gets right down to the gory details of what could go wrong. Lehane, while not going into excruciating details about what happened with certain children, also gave us a sliver more than most authors, and it resonates with you and sickens you at once. It speaks of his craft that, even though things are getting insane, you want to read more. The dialogue was sharp and witty, as always, and the sarcasm ran fluid and effectively throughout the book. Some terrific characters were introduced, and some moral issues were raised and dealt with. Bubba Rogowski makes an appearance again which, naturally, thrilled me endlessly – I truly do enjoy his character. Gone, Baby, Gone is a dark read, but oh-so-worth-it when you make it through the entire ordeal. I was disgusted with Helene McCready, little missing Amanda’s mother, because, unfortunately, there really are such useless and irresponsible people in the world, and it sickens me. Children should be cherished, treasured and cared for, not broken when so young. I am having difficulty expressing what it was like to read this book – it was dark, dramatic, incredibly well-written, it had a good pace and fantastic characters and a heavy whack of evil and there was plenty of action and riveting scenes… I just don’t know how to describe it all. It is a whirlwind story with an intriguing plot that draws you in from the very off, demands your attention, and will dominate you. Read it, if you have not. Even as a standalone novel it should work, though I think it will pack far more punch if you know more on the history of the characters. The book definitely sticks with you when all is said and done, and Dennis Lehane is genuinely not afraid of going against the grain. I love that!

23 thoughts on “Review: Gone, Baby, Gone – Dennis Lehane

  1. Fantastic review Zoe! I’m ashamed to say I didn’t even realise Gone, Baby, Gone was a book – let alone part of a series!! Doh!

    I loved the film so much, it captivated me. I’m going to read this next!! I’m glad you said it should work as a stand alone novel, pay day tomorrow – Amazon here I come!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a mil Emma!

      Don’t sweat it, I don’t think most people realise it teehee.

      EEEEEEEK DO IT FOR GLORY!!!!! Let me know how it goes, I truly hope that you enjoy it 😀 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank goodness – I felt like a right ignoramus haha!

        I will definitely read this, it’s sounds brilliant and I thought it was a brilliant story when I watched the film. Not very nice in places of course, but totally captivating! FOR GLORY!!!!!!! 😀 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      2. No ways! I watched the movie when it came out and didn’t know it was a book either.

        Ugh, there were places in this book where I was like whoa! I like that Lehane doesn’t really hold back, but it is going to set some people on edge :/ However, his books are amazing. I love his work. Read anything and everything you can get your hands on xD

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Thanks Zoe!!! I will look out for all of Lehane’s books 🙂 I’m just looking on Amazon at the mo too! Can’t’ believe how much he’s written!!!! (that I recognise as well)

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Zoe!!

    I am in absolute awe yet again at how well you write your reviews! After reading your review on this book and with the long weekend that just passed I thought, what the hell I have 4 spare lazy days, let’s download the ebook!

    This book was brilliant and infuriating!! So well written!! I finished it in one day!! You hit the nail on the head once again with your brilliant choice in books!

    I am currently downloading the rest of Lehane’s books – you have me addicted, once again to yet another thought provoking, mind blowing writer!!
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stevie!!!

      YAY! I am so glad that you found another great book to read! This series is a really good one and I truly hope that you enjoy them! 😀

      Argh, I loved it and it made my blood boil, so I totally understand what you are saying.

      Let me know how it goes, Lehane is fantastic!

      Like

    1. I get what you are saying 😦 That is always a really rough something to deal with, and there are places in this book where the punches are not held back, and that is pretty awful, but a great read nonetheless.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know how come I missed these books. Last weekend, I saw the movie version and was simply blown away. I have to read this series now from start to finish. Are all the books in this series worth getting into, or do I miss anything if I just read this book as a standalone?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the movie so much! These books are fantastic. I have read them in order, and there are lots of little things to clean when reading them like that, but you could read this as a standalone and not be completely lost.

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.