July Blind Spot Review: Cronos (1993)

“You may continue the game. After all, you have the toy. But I’m keeping the instructions, and I’m open all night.”
– Angel de la Guargia

SYNOPSIS: A mysterious device designed to provide its owner with eternal life resurfaces after four hundred years, leaving a trail of destruction in its path. – via IMDB

Finally! I know it has been forever since I posted a Blind Spot review, but with the move and all that I just did not have the time, and had to get my hands on movies and get some time to blog and blah, blah, blah, but I finally have it. I have been really interested in seeing Cronos for some time as I really love Del Toro’s Spanish work.

I have never really read too much on this movie because I like to go in to watch things with as little knowledge as possible, so that it is a totally new experience for me. Definitely what I got here. For one, I was shocked that sections of it were in English, though the majority was Spanish. I also was not impressed with Ron Perlman, but that is just me. He irrationally annoys the crap out of me, and this was no exception.

The movie is shot well, and has the beginnings of that magical charm to it, but never realises it quite like The Devil’s Backbone or Pan’s Labyrinth. The dark fairytale teases but never fully comes to life. The storytelling is a bit uneven, too. We get the whole concept of life everlasting, then the Alchemist is dead, this antiques seller has the archangel statue that houses this “eternal life”, he mistakenly finds it and then is suddenly using it and the people searching for it immediately know he has it and… yes, I could go on, but it is all so messy and sudden.

The story I liked, but was a bit disappointed that ultimately it was all about vampirism, and the insect running the show was never explained. I wanted answers! Once I accepted that the life everlasting was vampirism, there was a lot to appreciate. I did enjoy the undertaker/makeup man, he provided some solid humour to the movie, and I also liked the fact that, while this is ultimately vampirism, it is different from what we are traditionally used to (the turning, for instance). The movie also has a darker tone to it, and weaves a few different themes throughout it to varying degrees of success.

Cronos is worth a watch, and it shows that Del Toro is gifted, I just felt that it was a little underwhelming, more like his English works (though still better than the rest) than his Spanish fantasies that I have come to love. I know a lot of people love this movie and think it is brilliant, and I am glad that I have watched it, but it is certainly not my favourite of his, but worth a watch.

9 thoughts on “July Blind Spot Review: Cronos (1993)

  1. Interesting. I’ve recently watched a largely criticized Mimic (which Del Toro did after Cronos) and then was planning to see this one too. The way you describe in and even the rating are very similar to my feelings when watching Mimic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dearest IJB,

    It has never seen this one but some of Del Toro’s work can be iffy. Kind of like Nolan… there is just one thing off in most of his movies… It has tried to watch Crimson Peak three or four times and can’t get through it… not for dislike but more of uninterest… It did like Mimic though!

    Love,

    ISSC

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kindest PSC,

      It likes Del Toro’s Spanish work, but not the English stuff. This one was just not awesome like I was hoping for. It does love all Nolan though xD It must watch Mimic then sometime.

      Love,
      IJB

      Have a great one yourself!

      Like

  3. Great review, Zoë! I’ve never seen this but the DVD is always staring me in the face from the shelf it’s sitting on in the living room. Maybe I should add it to my 2018 Blind Spot list so it stops staring at me going “Watch me!!!!” 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.