Rapid Review: Super (2010)

super cover

“You don’t butt in line! You don’t sell drugs! You don’t molest little children! You don’t profit on the misery of others! The rules were set a long time ago. They don’t change.”
– Frank D’Arbo

SYNOPSIS: After his wife falls under the influence of a drug dealer, an everyday guy transforms himself into Crimson Bolt, a superhero with the best intentions, but lacking in heroic skills. – via IMDB

super

GRADE 6So I checked this out because Eric absolutely loved it, and it looked interesting. Let me tell you, this is totally not what I expected it to be. At all. Dark comedy for sure, but the biggest thing that comes from this is real sadness, loneliness and desperation. I felt so freaking sorry for Frank. Everything about him was just pitiable, and Rainn Wilson did a great job in bringing his character to life. Kevin Bacon was a serious asshat, icky! Then, of course, there is Liv Tyler, post screwing up her totally beautiful face. Ellen Page, too, is a character that is pretty cool until she puts on her costume. It’s like she totally freaks out, and I didn’t like it. Overly sexualised, manic, stupid, I could not bear her character by the end of it, which is quite disappointing. Not to mention one absolutely disgusting forcible scene that comes up towards the end – it did not sit well with me at all. Anyway, this story starts and it is already sad, injects some strange bits of humour in here, but it didn’t always work for me (and I am a big fan of a dark comedy), and it keeps going, sad, depressing, lonely. Those words are truly the three words to describe Frank and his existence. Nathan Fillion pops up from time to time as the incredibly ridiculous Holy Avenger, and the little TV stints he and the “students” had cracked me up – Fillion is always up for the crazy. Let’s not even forget to mention that Rob Zombie voiced God. That was awesome. I think the best thing about this film was the cast, hands down. The story was good, albeit a little silly, but I liked it. I enjoyed that everything was not perfect for The Crimson Bolt – he looked absurd, his crime fighting took forever to take off, when it did it was legitimately violent (like some fry cook literally going out and busting up dealers, totally the thing you could picture if someone did take this on), and his partnership building with Boltie was just so strange. It looks like I have had a lot to say about this, but I actually haven’t really had anything to say about it. It is dark, it is strange, it is weird, it isn’t bad, it is something you are certainly going to have to check out in order to make up your own mind about it.

18 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Super (2010)

  1. Dear JB,

    A SIX???? I fucking loved this movie!! This is really the only time I’ve ever liked Page too…

    #boltieforever

    Love,

    SSC

    P.S. I won’t know if I don’t try!!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Sixest JJB,

        Fair enough. Is there a thing called Darling out over there? I watched it on the plane on the way out here and would like to talk to someone about it.

        Truly,

        SPSC

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Good review Zoe. It’s weird and messed-up, but honestly, that’s why it kind of works. Also, because it’s got something of a heart, underneath all of the blood and gore.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Dan! It was super strange and super messed up, but it made it work. I liked this well enough, I just didn’t love it. I was a fan of the ending though, I thought it fit perfectly!

      Like

  3. I’m torn between this one and Kick Ass to which one I love more. Both movies have just the right amount of heart felt moments and awesome violence I love. I thought Ellen Page was awesome but I can understand why some wont fully love this one I hope James Gunn does another picture like this and not a Guardians of Galaxy sequel

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely prefer Kick Ass more than this one, hands down, though I did like this one well enough. I enjoyed her… and then she went scary, to places I was not prepared to go xD

      Like

    1. You and I see eye to eye on this. It wasn’t a bad film, and it was worth a watch, but I really don’t see myself revisiting this again. Not bad, but just not totally my thing.

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.