Review: The Craft (1996)

the-craft-poster

“True magic is neither black, nor white – it’s both because nature is both. Loving and cruel, all at the same time. The only good or bad is in the heart of the witch. Life keeps a balance on its own.”
– Lirio

SYNOPSIS: Four girls at a Los Angeles Catholic school form a coven of witches that cast spells on their classmates and each other. Their new powers overwhelm them, leading to an internal power struggle. – via IMDB

the-craft-spells

I watched this movie so many times as a kid. So many damn times. I liked the fact that these girls were different (not to mention witches) and not afraid to embrace that. That’s always something I enjoy, when women do not conform to the expectations of society. The Craft is a good film. It starts out all innocent and sweet, and then devolves into utter madness.

I thought the actresses picked to play the witches were all great, and all brought something else to the table. These are just young girls with small things that irk them, that come together because they are different, they believe they are powerful. Initially they ask for little things, each having their own small issues. This is where some big lessons come in. They say you can’t always get what you want, and be careful what you wish for. You hear it all the time. This movie shows how seemingly innocent things can be turned on their heads.

the-craft-we-are-the-weirdos

The constantly shifting dynamics between the girls is also something that is fascinating. Innocent, then friends, then obsessed and changing, afraid of Nancy, yet power hungry and feeling superior to the rest. Then there is Sarah, a witch and girl questioning her group, not wanting to conform to the inevitable peer pressure. That does not stop the magic the girls try out from just getting bigger and more crazy, and does not change the fact that these girls can be right bitches.

Seeing how the magic doesn’t quite work as one would hope, and how it can sour terribly was interesting. It takes a different spin on it than a lot of movies handling magic and witches usually do.
the-craft-kiss2

13 thoughts on “Review: The Craft (1996)

  1. This is amazing! Just yesterday I was having an urge to listen to the soundtrack. Tomorrow Never Knows is such a great song, isn’t it? I’m with you. I watched The Craft oh so many times as a teenager and was practically obsessed with Nancy’s character. Fantastic flashback!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear IJB,

    I lied this a lot when I first saw it. I think I watched it a few years ago and didn’t like it as much as I remembered, but I could be wrong. I am The Chop.

    Love,
    PSC

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sweet Chop,

      I loved it as a kid, and as an adult I enjoyed it and had fun, but didn’t love it quite the same. You might be right, you might be wrong, but you certainly are The Chop.

      Love,
      JJB

      Like

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.