Rapid Review: Captain America: Civil War (2016)

captain america civil war poster

“I know we’re not perfect, but the safest hands are still our own.”
– Steve Rogers

SYNOPSIS: After another incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability, headed by a governing body to oversee and direct the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers, resulting in two camps, one led by Steve Rogers and his desire for the Avengers to remain free to defend humanity without government interference, and the other following Tony Stark’s surprising decision to support government oversight and accountability. – via IMDB


captain america civil war

I would also just like to take a moment to appreciate the raw power of this moment.

captain america civil war helicopter

Well. Well. Where do I even begin? Let’s start with the fact that this movie really shouldn’t have been flown under the Captain America banner – it could really have just been Civil War or even Marvel/Avengers: Civil War. This was essentially an Avengers movie, and you all know how huge a fan I am of that. So it shorts Thor and The Hulk, but they were mentioned a ton of times. I don’t know, I wanted a Captain America movie. He is my favourite Avenger, he is the only one who has individual movies I get excited about and adore, and then we got this one, so heavily reliant on Age of Ultron and all that happened there, and it was all about signing off on a document to regulate the Avengers team. Seriously. So they called it Captain America: Civil War because there was some extra Bucky Barnes/The Winter Soldier?

However, that being said, there was so much scrumptious Sebastian Stan for me. Oh hell yeah there was, hmmmm. I really liked the themes that were explored in the film, like friendship, opposing opinions, loyalty, standing up for what you believe in, conforming, moral responsibility, etc. The performances were all solid, though I really feel that this movie was juggling way too many characters, but still managed to do a relatively decent job with them all. I enjoyed the introduction of the Black Panther, and I freaking love the moves on this guy, so fluid and awesome. Marvel has again let us down on the villain, Baron Zemo. After The Winter Soldier, I was expecting darker, more hardcore villains. Zemo was underutilised here, and didn’t pack as much punch as he could have had he been set up better. I never felt shock and horror at any of the things that he did.

captain america civil war tony bucky steve fight

Steve finally kissing Sharon was a little rushed and out of place in the movie, it wasn’t properly set up (in this film), and then it was glossed over. The fighting sequences were great to look at, and the Russo’s really grasp that – that choreography, the movements, all of it is just amazing. The inclusion of Steve’s “I can do this all day” is another scene that thrilled me, it is something I expect from him. There were some interesting plot developments here, some of particular interest being carried by the Winter Soldier, which is great. Anyway, with too many characters to really talk too much about, Captain America: Civil War is an entertaining Avengers flick with more heart to it than the average Avengers film, solid performances, darker, a good movie, some solid humour and well worth watching.

So. Much. Delicious. Bucky.

captain america bucky barnescaptain america bucky and tony big fightcaptain america civil war winter soldier tony2captain america buckycaptain america bucky civil war

This totally sums up Captain America: Civil War.

captain america civil war avengers

22 thoughts on “Rapid Review: Captain America: Civil War (2016)

  1. Great review bestie! I WISH I could have seen the Hems again. Anyway, it wasn’t a bad film, just a lot of people and not really about Captain America. But SO happy for all the Bucky time for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks mah Kidney! LOL you would have been stoked. Too many Avengers, too much about the Avengers. Oh well. But how much yummy Bucky?! 😀 I was beyond stoked about that.

      Like

  2. Haha, so you like Bucky then eh? I wasn’t let down by this I think Cap got enough of the focus for it to get away with being a ‘Captain America’ film. But I agree that it wasn’t as much a Cap film as Winter Soldier was but all in all I think a necessary next step in the Marvel film saga.

    Nice review Zoe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meh, I thought so, but hoping they were able to balance it more. Unfortunately, they didn’t. Aside from the misfortune of the title, the movie is very good. I enjoyed it quite a bit, though I didn’t love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked it. I thought it was still quite Cap because the conflict was mainly due to his need to save Bucky. Yes, it was Avengers heavy, but they have been brought together in previous movies so many times, that it feels like they are a team, and it would feel weird, if any of the others weren’t included. I don’t know. I liked it. I would have liked more Bucky though, more than we got, more and maybe just only him, that would have been nice. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am very much in the minority here for not liking the Avengers when they come together at all, so that was bound to count against this film. I was stoked to see more Bucky, but could totally do with a story purely on him. You won’t see any complaints from me.

      Like

  4. Great review! : ) I… I just couldn’t be bothered. I attempted to review this but I’m so superheroed-out that I just blathered on about everything BUT this movie in my review. Lol. It’s good, though. I did enjoy it. Think we liked it about the same. There are just too damn many superhero movies! Ha – I REALLY appreciated those muscles when Evans was holding onto that helicopter, though… ; )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I get what you are saying – all superheroed out. I actually avoid most of them and get to them whenever, but for Captain America and X-Men? I will always trip out and get excited. Lol, suuuuuuure, it was a great scene!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooohh, you’ might have actually just sold me on this. The less Captain America the better for me. I know, I know. String me up. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t even know what to say right now. In fact, I am horrified. Completely and utterly horrified xD Oh well, each to their own! Worth a look see anyway, even if it wasn’t the movie I was hoping it would be!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahah! I can’t wait to see how it goes. Just got done reading something else and they had similar issues with it, like Cap’n not getting enough screen time and there being a bit too much chaos with all the characters and whatnot. Marvel is kinda starting to paint themselves into a corner in my book. From here on out its hard to imagine a lot of stand-alone movies NOT featuring the whole team at some point or other. They are all inextricably linked. Then again, if I had read any comics at ALL when I was younger I would have been prepared for all this. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gareth! This is something I am looking forward to rewatching – there was so much going on and I think that I will enjoy catching all the smaller, less obvious things from a second viewing. Glad you enjoyed it so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Be bold, share your two cents!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.